Do I Even Know What Vegan Means?

Well hi there.

I’m having a lovely little Sunday, how ’bout you?

Today started out with a gorgeous 5 mile run around Richmond with my running group, The Pavement Pounders! I am a little new to group training, and not at all used to chatting away while I run, so I opted to rock out to my ipod while I enjoyed the sunshine. 

After, a bunch of us met up for brunch at The Republic.  I am amazed at how many places around the city offer Sunday brunch, as it wasn’t really a big thing in Michigan.  However, this does present a bit of a problem for me because, as much as I want to be social, I tend to feel like puking my guts out if I eat within an hour or two of running.  I have no idea why, but nothing more substantial than fruit or a granola bar seems to sit all that well.  In the name not being lame, I powered through and split a breakfast pizza with my friend, Jessica.  I didn’t eat too much, and it seemed to work out ok.  Plus, it was pretty freakin’ tasty!

This afternoon, I couldn’t stay inside on such a gorgeous day, so I ventured out to spend my Groupon at Barnes & Noble, browse through Stein Mart, and pick up a few groceries.

Dear Sunshine, I heart you. The end.

I am super excited to dive into these two loveys:

I have heard great things about both books.  When I saw Portia de Rossi on Ellen and Oprah, I knew I needed to read her book.   And I can’t wait for the movie version of Water for Elephants, but I have to read the book first!  Does anyone else feel like they need to read the book before they see the movie?  It’s a thing I have.  I think other people have it, too. 🙂

When I got home, I felt like doin’ a little bakin’, so I got to work on a recipe for Vegan Banana Bread that I have been wanting to try.  I found it over at The Baking Bird, which incidentally is a darling site and you should visit it as soon as humanly possible!

I am no where near vegan (do I even know what vegan means???), but I do like to eat healthfully and vegan sounds pretty dang healthy if you ask me, so I whipped up my own version of this bread.

My recipe went like this:

Peel a few bananas.  When you peel your bananas, do you use the monkey method?  I’m not sure it works any better, but I did it anyway!

Mash ’em up.

I find the mashing to be oddly therapeutic.

Add in 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 a cup of brown sugar.  I felt very smart using my individual pre-portioned applesauce container to measure my brown sugar, too.  One less dirty dish?  Score!

Recycling + fewer dishes to wash = awesomeness

 

Then, the recipe had this cute little detail:

Sift? Probably not.

Darling, really.  Sift?  Um, no.  My modest little kitchen has no sifting implements and even if it did, who am I kidding?  The likelihood of me ever sifting anything is slim to none.  So I dumped it all in.

I know, I know, real bakers who weigh their ingredients on tiny kitchen scales and do things like sifting are totally cringing right now.  Sorry real bakers!  (It was at this point that I actually remembered to pre-heat the oven, too.  I may not understand about sifting, but I get the whole hot oven part).

There was another cute suggestion to use a wooden spoon to mix everything together.  Wooden spoons, however, are hand wash only items.  I just couldn’t commit.  So I used a regular spoon.  Will you still be friends with me?  OK, good. 🙂

A few walnuts later and into the oven she went.  And can I just say this about nuts?  I like nuts.  One of the perks of living alone is that if I want nuts in my baked goods, I can just add the damn nuts.  No asking anyone else’s permission, no making half and half.  Nope.  I just add the damn nuts.  Next time, I might add some damn chocolate chips, too.  I’m feeling like such a rebel now!

Baked at 350* for 45 minutes, this bread is totally amazeballs.  Yep, I went there.  For serious.  Make it!

Vegan Banana Bread

3 very ripe medium bananas

1/2 c. applesauce

1/2 c. brown sugar

1 c. all purpose flour

1 c. whole wheat flour

3/4 t. baking soda

1 t. ground cinnamon

1/4 t. ground nutmeg

1/2 t. salt

1/4-1/2 c. chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350*

Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray.

Mash up bananas in a large mixing bowl.  Add applesauce & brown sugar & whisk to incorporate.

Add your flours, baking soda, spices, & salt to the banana mixture & stir everything together gently until just combined being careful not to overmix.

Pour batter into loaf pan & bake for ~45 minutes or until center is set & a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

In theory, you should let this cool.  I have a problem not diving into baked good the second they come out of the oven, so do what you need to do.  I won’t judge.

I realize that the blogger-y thing to do would have been to take a lovely photo of the finished product.  My greedy self just cut right in.  So you get this instead:

I have absolutely no self control. Forgive me? K, thanks!

 

Oops.  Not much of a looker half-eaten & all cut up like this, but tasty to be sure!

The best part is that it clocks in at about 225 calories a slice.  Not too shabby.  Have you used the Recipe Calculator over on Spark People?  Love that thing!

A Q for you . . .

Can you let your baked goods cool before diving in or is your self control a little, um, lacking?

6 thoughts on “Do I Even Know What Vegan Means?

Leave a reply

