This is So Sumptuous!

I was all set to share my favorite muffin recipe with you tonight.  But then, I made such a delicious dinner, I felt it would be a betrayal if I didn’t tell you immediately.

I truly don’t toot my own horn about my own cooking all that often, but this had me audibly mmmmmmmmm-ing.  I felt like What About Bob. It was awesome.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you . . .Pantry Linguine with Clam Sauce!

Now, I love Linguine with Clam Sauce, but I’ve never actually made it at home.  I was craving comfort food tonight, and had picked up a can of clams on a whim, so I gave it my best shot.

My best shot was a bullseye.  Toot toot! 🙂

This was such an easy meal, it came together super fast, and I had everything on hand.   Plus the whole mmmmm factor was an added bonus.  I love it when I’m surprised at how good something tastes!

Enough gabbin’ already!  Here’s your recipe!

Pantry Linguine with Clam Sauce

Serves 1 😀

1 T. olive oil (Garlic Gold is the BEST!)

1/4 chopped onion

1 T. minced garlic

shake or two of red pepper flakes, to taste

1 can minced clams in juice

1/4 cup low sodium chicken broth or white wine

1 T. butter or margarine

1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

1 portion linguine (I used Trader Joe’s Garlic Basil linguine.  You should, too.  Just saying.)

First, heat the oil over medium heat.  Garlic Gold is seriously where it’s at!  You need to invest!

Add your onion.  Lightly season with salt and pepper.  If you’re really sensitive to salt, go easy or skip it altogether.  That clam juice is salty!  If you’re working on hardening your arteries so they don’t collapse, salt away.  This tends to be my method.  I like flava!

Anyway . . . Saute the onion over medium low for 5-6 minutes until it’s softened.

Add your garlic and red pepper flakes and saute about 30 seconds before adding in your clams!

Yep, canned clams.  I promise it’s ok.

Simmer the sauce for about 6 minutes until it reduces down.  Then, add in your broth or wine and simmer an additional 5 minutes.

While that’s happening, cook up your linguine.  If you haven’t tried Trader Joe’s flavored pastas, you need to!  I find that a lot of flavored pastas don’t really taste flavored, but I promise you this is insanely flavorful!

At this point, your sauce should be pretty reduced.  Add your butter or margarine and the linguine to the sauce.

Toss everything together so the sauce coats the noodles.  Add in your cheese.

Cheeeeeeeezy!

And now . . .

Oh dear . . .

Oh my . . .

I cannot even tell you how amazing this was!  So super creamy–I’d swear there was cream and tons of butter in this if I hadn’t made it myself!  It was incredible!  And so so easy to make.

Soooooooo . . . what are you waiting for???

In other news, I was unnaturally excited when I saw this on the newsstand today.

I never buy gossip magazines, but given my love for Bethenny Frankel, I snatched it up.

Off to snuggle on the couch with my US Weekly!

What’s the last “mmmmmmmmm”-worthy meal you made?

7 thoughts on “This is So Sumptuous!

  1. Oh my, that pasta looks SO good! Clam pasta is one of my favorites for sure.

    Haha and how funny, I was JUST reading that US magazine issue yesterday!

  2. I just want to say I’m all new to blogging and honestly savored this web page. Probably I’m want to bookmark your website . You surely have excellent articles. Cheers for revealing your web page.

  3. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really great posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Thank you!

Leave a reply

