Muffins and Minions!

Good Saturday morning to you, my dears!  Is it a beautiful day where you are?  The sun is already shining here, and I can’t wait to get outside for a quick run.  I love running in the morning and wish I could do it more, but when I have to leave for work at 6:30 AM, it’s just not happenin’, ya know?

I have a yummy, healthy muffin recipe for ya today, but first, look at these cute little guys a student drew for me:

 

Minions!

 

 

Given how much I love animated movies, it’s no surprise that these adorable minions from Despicable Me totally made my day!  I was a little under the weather this week, so this was a perfect pick me up!  It’s amazing to me that I can have the most frustrating day teaching, but a little comment or note from a student totally turns it around.  Any other teachers out there feel the same way?

Onward!  To muffins!

I originally found this recipe on Brown Eyed Baker, and it has become a go-to favorite of mine.  I seriously make them at least once a month and incorporate them into my breakfast almost every day.  These are healthy, tasty, easy, inexpensive, filling, etc. etc. etc.  I could go on and on about these muffins, but you would probably get annoyed and want me to get to the point already, wouldn’t you?  Very well.  Without further ado, I give you . . .

Applesauce Oatmeal Muffins!

I’ve got to tell you, I feel like a bit of a con-artist posting recipes because I typically just throw a bunch of stuff together and call it good, but in the interest of sharing, here’s the approximate recipe. 🙂

Applesauce Oatmeal Muffins

1 cup old fashioned oats (not instant)
1 cup skim milk
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (with cinnamon if you are a cinnamon freak like me!)
2 egg whites
1 cup whole wheat flour (or all purpose flour)
1/2 cup brown sugar (white will work in a pinch)
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
¼ cup diced walnuts & ¼ cup dried cranberries (optional)–or whatever mix-ins you like

First, take a cup of old fashioned oats and mix it with a cup of milk.

Let the oats soak up the milk in the fridge for about an hour.  I’ve also let them soak overnight and they come out just as good, so as long as they soak for no less than an hour, I think you’re good to go!

I have to watch the clock because I have no patience whatsoever!

Phew!  I am not good at waiting!  And look . . .

I even remembered to preheat the oven!  It’s the little things. 😀

After soaking, your oats should look like this:

Then you add your applesauce and egg whites to the oat mixture.  (You don’t need to see this; raw egg whites are not photogenic).

I usually use the preportioned cups of applesauce because buying a larger container always results in it getting moldy in the back of my fridge. 😦  I typically use unsweetened cinnamon applesauce, but any old applesauce you have on hand (or that’s on sale!) will do just fine.

So you mix those together in one bowl.  In a separate bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients.

A couple things:

  • When it comes to the sugar, I use brown because it’s my favorite, but I’ve used white in a pinch and they came out just as good.
  • I go for whole wheat flour in these because it plays really well with the oats and gives them a heartier flavor.  BUT!  I’ve used white flour, too, and that will do just fine, too.

Now, we mix!  Add the wet to the dry and mix it all together just until blended.  Be careful not to overmix these or your muffins will be as tough as this guy.

I have a secret crush on The Rock.

Don’t be confused; sadly, overmixing will not make him appear.  Otherwise, I would be mixing the crap out of these muffins.  For reals.

OK, now that I’ve sufficiently distracted you, back to muffins!  At this point, you can add whatever mix-ins you like.  I’m partial to dried cherries or cranberries and walnuts, but you could do bits of apple, almonds, coconut, basically whatever you like!

Use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to divide the batter evenly among 12 muffin cups.  Be sure to line them with muffin papers or spray your pan.  I always just spray the pan with cooking spray because I hate it when half my muffin is stuck on the paper.

Bake at 350* for 20 minutes.

Voila!  Healthy, tasty muffins!  Depending on your mix-ins, these babies clock in right around 100 calories a piece.  They’re a great at breakfast with yogurt and fruit or a yummy afternoon snack.

Store ’em in an airtight container.  They will keep this way for 4-5 days, but if you can’t eat them all in that time, just freeze them and take ’em out as needed.  Equally good both ways!

This afternoon, I’m headed to Charlottesville to hang out with my friend, Claire. I haven’t been there since I moved to Virginia, so I’m excited for a mini road trip to explore a new place!

The sunshine is calling me, so I’m strapping on my running shoes and hitting the pavement!  Have a beautiful Saturday!

What are your go-to favorite recipes?

8 thoughts on “Muffins and Minions!

  1. Oh I LOVE the sound/look of these!! I’m definately going to be trying them. I’ve been looking for a really healthy muffin recipe and the one I found and made was just gross, but this one seems just perfect! I can’t wait to make these. Also I’m glad to find another cinnamon freak 😉

Leave a reply

