It Didn’t Suck

Today, my 10K training plan called for a 6.5 mile run.  Since I was in Cville last night, I didn’t make it to my group run this morning, so I was left to my own devices.

I didn’t wanna.

I wanted a nap.

There were papers to grade.

I had too many of these last night.

I’m not going to lie.  In my head, I was kicking and screaming the entire time I changed into my running clothes, laced up my shoes, and drove to the trail.  But I sucked it up, put on my ipod, and hit the road.  And you know what?

It didn’t suck.

I could sugar coat it and say it was glorious and wonderful, and I’m so glad I got out and enjoyed the weather, but nothing spectacular occurred.  It just didn’t suck.

Truly, it was good to get out and move, and I am happy that I got it done.  Plus, there were a lot of other runners and walkers out on the trail which always cheers me.  An older runner, probably in his 60s or 70s, gave me a thumbs up as we passed one another.  It made me smile.  That alone probably made the run worthwhile.  Aren’t old people the cutest?  I love old people.  It’s a thing I have.

When I got home, I wanted comfort food, but I didn’t want to work very hard.  After a quick inventory of the pantry, fridge, and freezer, I came up with a variation of this soup.  Well, I guess it’s a chowder.  I actually had to google chowder, and I am happy to report that yes, this fits the bill!   So I whipped up some Cheesy Italian Veggie Chowder.  🙂

Cheesy Italian Veggie Chowder

Serves 1.5 (that’s one dinner portion and one lunch portion . . . or maybe one portion for one very hungry person!)

1 T. Smart Balance Light

1/4 cup chopped onion

1 clove of garlic, minced

2 T. flour

1/4 t. ground mustard

1 cup skim milk

1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth

1 cup frozen mixed veggies

1 cup frozen shredded potatoes

1 t. Italian seasoning

1/2 cup shredded Italian cheese

salt and pepper, to taste

How To:

Melt your Smart Balance (or butter) over medium-low heat in a medium saucepan.  Add onion, season with salt and pepper, and cook 3-5 minutes, until onion is softened.

Add garlic and sauté an additional 30 seconds.  Reduce heat to low and whisk in flour and ground mustard.  In theory, you should cook this until it’s bubbly and thickened.  My roux, however, always looks like this.

So don’t fret if yours does, too.  And if it doesn’t, please, for the love of God, tell me how you get it to work properly!

Whisk in the milk and chicken broth.  Add your frozen mixed veggies and frozen shredded potatoes plus Italian seasoning.

Raise the heat to high to bring it just to a boil.  As soon as it begins to bubble, reduce the heat back to low.  Simmer gently for 3-5 minutes until the veggies and potatoes are tender.  Give it a couple of stirs as it simmers.

Add in cheese and stir until the cheese is melted.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Served up in my Michigan mug! 😀

This was creamy and comforting, but I could actually taste the veggies, too.

Nom nom nom

I lounged on the couch with my chowder while watching some DVR’ed Bones.

I think I may be the only person who can eat and watch this show.  There was talk of dog slime vomit in this episode.  Ew.  And still, I enjoyed my soup.  I know.  I’m such a weirdo.

Are there any shows that are “off limits” while you eat?  Or are you not grossed out that easily?

One thought on “It Didn’t Suck

Leave a reply

