Busy Bee

I was quite the busy bee today!

I tackled all of these:

Re-vamped the header on my blog:

And did a little yoga with Bethenny! 😀

As I mentioned yesterday, I was not looking forward to grading those papers!  But my students did such a great job writing them that I actually didn’t mind!  They must have a good teacher. 😉

As for my new header, it took me for.freaking.EVER!!! I am not all that blog-savvy, and I spent the better part of the afternoon trying to figure it out.  It’s not exactly what I want it to be, but I’ll continue to play with it.  Any bloggers out there have tips for me?

Since I gave my shout out to Bethenny this morning, I thought I’d do a little yoga with her this afternoon.  A few people have asked me what I think of the workout, so I thought I’d do a quick review!

All you need is a yoga mat and a set of weights, plus an area where you can move around pretty well.

The workout has 3 parts:

  • 40 minutes of yoga
  • 10 minutes of upper body
  • 5 minutes for the booty!

Yoga

The yoga portion of this workout is definitely challenging.  If you haven’t done yoga before, I highly recommend doing a beginner video or class first.  If you have done yoga before, you can definitely do it!  Rather than a flow, there are several poses that you have to hold, which is really tough!  Your muscles will be burning, but in that good burn sort of way. 😀 There are also a lot of balancing poses, which I find incredibly challenging, but you really feel like you accomplish something when you’re done.

Upper Arms

In this portion, you go through a series of 6 exercises, completing 2 sets of 12 reps of each exercise.  For me, this isn’t enough of a weight workout.  Sometimes I do it, but I feel like I get more bang for my buck if I do a full body workout a la Jackie Warner.  However, if I don’t have a ton of time or just want to get a short workout in, this does the trick.

Booty!

Bethenny calls this the “Booty Bonus,” which I find adorable.  The exercises are quick and simple and great for a quick toning sesh.  Plus, it’s only 5 minutes long.  If I do the arms, I do the booty, too!

I love that it’s divided up like this because you can do just the yoga if you want, or just yoga and arms, or the whole shebang!  Usually, I just do the yoga part because I feel like I get a good workout doing that alone.  I don’t own the DVD, but I can watch it through Exercise TV on demand.  I love having this feature on my cable, but if I didn’t have it, I would definitely buy the DVD.  It really is a good workout.  So there you have it!

On to dinnah!

Tonight I met up with my friend, Danielle, for a yummy dinner at Cafe Caturra.  It’s kind of like an upscale Panera-esque place where they serve gourmet salads, soups, sammies, and vino!

I love how fresh everything on the menu is.  It never disappoints!  They have several locations in and around Richmond and a couple in North Carolina.  Who knows?  Maybe there’s one near you!

Tonight, they were having a Girls’ Night event, so it was actually really crowded for a Monday.  Danielle snagged us a table with her stellar skills! 😉

For her, a savory goat cheese salad and spicy chicken chili:

Isn't she the cutest?! (Please excuse my blurry photography skills)

And for me, a veggie panini and house salad:

Dig in!

I even took a close up for the blog!  My first time photographing my food in public.  I felt so blogger-y!

The salad was so light and fresh with dried cranberries, walnuts, and shredded cheddar, dressed in just the right amount of balsamic vinaigrette.  My panini included roma tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, red onion, provolone cheese, hummus, and balsamic vinaigrette.  It had the perfect crunch factor that I love so much about paninis!  😀

It was so nice to see Danielle!  It had been way too long, and we had a great time chatting away and catching up.  She even brought me a gift from her latest business trip just because she saw it and thought of me.  How sweet is that???

Little Miss Matched Socks!

Have you ever seen these?  They are adorable!  It’s 3 mis-matched socks in complimentary colors so you can mix and match ’em!  I love them!!!  Thanks, Danielle!  You’re the bestest!

Have you come across any cute novelty items lately? Please share!

7 thoughts on “Busy Bee

  1. I like your blog and your guest post at Jenn’s page! I am going to see if I can get that Yoga DVD on netflix to try it out. I have those same weights too – Target?

    • hungryhealthyhappy says:

      Thanks, Megan! Yep, got my weights at Target–I love how cheap they are there! You’ll have to let me know what you think of the DVD!

Leave a reply

