Ciao Bella!

Ciao Bellas!  How was your Wednesday?  I, for one, am totally loving how fast this week is going after having Monday off.  Tomorrow is Thursday already!  Hip hip HOORAY!!!

Tonight, I have your second Party of One recipe featuring Fresh Mozzarella!  Are you ready for a bella?  Portabella, that is!  Yep, we’ve got:

Portabella Caprese

Now, before I go any further, you might be wondering, Does this chick eat any meat??? The answer is YES!  I do enjoy chicken, fish, pork, beef, bacon, etc. etc. etc.!  But being on my own, I find it less expensive to eat meat-free a few nights a week.  Plus, I don’t really miss the meat, so it works for me.

I picked up a couple of portabella caps and some fresh basil on my way home from work, and I was ready to go!

First, I pre-heated my Griddler to high heat and sprayed my mushroom caps with some cooking spray on the top.

Then, I gave them a little special treatment on the other side in the form of this baby:

In case you didn’t know, Garlic Gold is this:

I love how it says, “That’s all.”  🙂  I spread a little Garlic Gold on the other side of my bellas and seasoned with S&P.  Griddler time!

While they cooked up, I sliced some cherry tomatoes and basil.  I seasoned them with some more S&P and a little olive oil.

About 5-7 minutes later, the mushrooms were good to go!

Steamy!

You’re probably wondering where the mozzarella is, right?  Don’t worry, I gotcha!

Top your bellas with the tomato and basil mixture and about a slice of mozzarella each.

Under the broiler for 5 minutes and . . .

Gooey goodness

 

But a caprese salad isn’t a caprese salad without a little balsamic syrup!

Sadly, my balsamic syrup never really turned into syrup tonight, but it was still tasty!  😀

And while the cheese was melting, I threw together this guy for lunch tomorrow!

Just mixed greens with whole cherry tomatoes, some fresh basil, and a few cubes of mozzarella.  My dressing trick is simple.  I just pour a little in the bottom of my plastic container and put the salad on top.  Then, when I’m ready for lunch.  I just shake up the container.  Take the lid off, and your salad is perfectly dressed without getting soggy!

So, let’s see . . . that makes 2 lunches + 2 dinners out of my mozz so far this week!  Pretty good, if I do say so myself!

*****************************************************************************************************

In case you were wondering, pole dancing last night was crazy tough!  The class I attended is called Pole Fit.

POLEFIT an unconventional way to strengthen, tone and cultivate flexibility using the pole to provide resistance. This intense hour long class begins with a cardio warm up and maintains the workout through a series of pole maneuvers working your upper body, core and legs. Learn to climb and spin at a pace that is comfortable for you.

Intense doesn’t begin to describe it!  I was huffin’ and puffin’!  We did a lot of weight exercises and used a stability ball, but the pole was by far the hardest part of the class.  We learned how to grip it and then did a lot of ab work holding onto the pole and raising our legs or knees up to waist level.  As you can imagine, holding your hole body weight is a great workout for the arms, too.  My hands kept slipping on the pole, so the instructor let me borrow some pole grip (yes, there is such a thing!), and it helped a ton!  The exercises were so much easier!  We didn’t do any climbing–honestly, I don’t think I’m strong enough to do that!–but I did learn how to spin!  It was my favorite part of the whole class! 😀

Overall, I enjoyed the workout.  It gave me a new appreciation for people who can pole dance!  You have to be super strong and have a ton of control.  I also learned that the faces I make while pole dancing are decidedly unsexy.  Good thing I’m not planning on a career in it!  Tee hee.

Have a lovely evening!

Have you ever tried an unconventional workout?

6 thoughts on “Ciao Bella!

  1. Love your blog. Those portabella mushrooms look incredible!!! Mmmm.

    I eat alone most of the month and I definitely want to try this recipe out 🙂 Tonight my dinner consisted of roasted green beans, Mac n Cheese and a beer! haha 🙂

    I haven’t tried an unconventional workout just yet, but I did see a striptease class on Groupon the other day – I might have to check this out! 🙂

  2. hungryhealthyhappy says:

    Gotta love those random dinners! And of course you have to have a beer with it! 😀

    I am so sore today from the Pole Fit class! It’s that second day soreness that sneaks up on you! I would recommend it for sure!

  3. Katie says:

    I bought some basil and mozz last week on a whim and I’m getting bored with regular caprese salad…. ummm can’t wait to try this! At home I probably eat 90% vegetarian, it is definitely cheaper and usually saves me time.

  4. I love this recipe it was so tasty! I’m a student at Michigan State University for Special Education and have to cook for myself all the time. I love that you are posting these recipes! Thank you!!

Leave a reply

