Yum-tastic!

After my Butternut Squash Pizza the other night, I wasn’t sure how my starring ingredient would hold up in my next Party of One recipe.  I mean, that pizza was killer.  How could I possibly top it???

I really wanted something hearty and comforting after a rough couple of days.  The idea of lasagna was floating around in my head, but it’s not exactly Party of One friendly.  Enter Squash & Spinach Lasagna Roll Ups!

Several years ago, I made a version of lasagna roll ups for a crowd, and I remember loving them.  Since you really only make the amount of filling and noodles you need per portion, and since I have my handy-dandy individual casserole dishes, there was no reason I couldn’t make it happen!

Squash & Spinach Lasagna Roll Ups

Serves 1 hungry chick!

1 cup diced squash, pre-cooked

1/2 small onion, finely diced

1 T. garlic, minced

1 cup frozen spinach, defrosted and squeezed dry

1/8 t. freshly grated nutmeg (or ground)

1/4 cup part skim ricotta cheese

4 cooked lasagna noodles

1/2 cup chicken broth

1/4-1/3 cup gorgonzola cheese

2 T. milk

1 t. cornstarch

1/4 shredded Italian or mozzarella cheese

Start by getting some water on to boil for the lasagna noodles.  While that’s happening, puree your cooked squash.  You could also mash it up with a potato masher if you don’t have a food processor.  Just make sure you puree (or mash) it really well so it’s  smooth.

Before:

And then:

When that’s all set, get your diced onion sauteing in a little olive oil over medium low heat.  Season with S&P.  {Sometime around here, the water should be boiling and you can get the noodles cooking–they take about 10 minutes.}

After the onion is translucent (about 5 minutes) add in your garlic and saute an additional 30 seconds.  Add in your squash puree and spinach, plus the ricotta.  This is where you get to add the nutmeg!

Fresh nutmeg is where it’s at!  First of all, it smells amazing.  Plus, I get to use my microplane to grate some up whenever I use it.  And!  I get to store it in a cute little container:

Awe! {I’m fairly sure my cute little container came with cute little chalk to write on that black spot, but I didn’t follow through with that part.  Whoops!}

Season the whole thing with a little more S&P and mix it all up!

Take it off the heat, but leave the filling in the pan.  Spread your cooked noodles out on a work surface and set up your work station.

Work stations make me happy!  So orderly!  I know, I have issues. 🙂

Divide the filling evenly among the 4 noodles.  I spread mine in an even layer in the pan first, then score it to be sure I have an even amount of filling for each roll up.

Now, roll ’em up!

Hi guys!

Now, comes the gorgonzola (non)cream sauce!  This sauce is thick and rich, but it doesn’t have a lick of cream.  How do you like that?

In a small saucepan, melt the gorgonzola into the chicken broth over a medium simmer.  Make a slurry of your milk and cornstarch.  Make sure to whisk it up really well so that the cornstarch is dissolved or your sauce will get lumpy. 😦

Slowly whisk the milk mixture into the broth and simmer, stirring constantly, about 30 seconds to a minute or until your sauce is thickened.

Pour it over the roll ups:

And sprinkle ’em with some shredded cheese.  Just for good measure. 😉

Pop them under the broiler for just a few minutes to melt and brown the cheese!!!  (<— Can you tell melted, browned cheese gets me all a-tither???)

And why wouldn’t it?  Gotta tell you, this was 100% yum-tastic!

Rich, creamy cheese sauce balanced out by the freshness of spinach and roasted squash, then topped with melty cheese . . . what’s not to love?

Who says you can’t have lasagna for one???

This is a doozy–in the best possible way!  You deserve a Wednesday pick me up.   Why not treat yourself some roll ups? 😀

5 thoughts on “Yum-tastic!

Leave a reply

