Squashed!

Woohoo!  Thursday?  Squashed!  I’m ready for a weekend, my friends!  How about you?

This afternoon, my 10K training plan called for a track workout.  Now, I wasn’t really a distance runner until a year or so ago.  Before then, I would run 3, maybe 4 miles, but not the distances I do now.  But I have always loved a good track workout.  When I was in high school, track was my thang, and I was super excited to get out there and do some fast running today!

Life, however, got in the way, and I had to detour from the actual track onto the treadmill.  Sigh.  But I did get it done, and that’s what counts, right?

The workout called for a 10 minute warm-up jog, which I completed at a pace of 6.0 on the treadmill.  Then, I did alternating intervals to complete 10 X 400 meters with 200 meters of rest between each one.  The pace was supposed to be slightly faster than race pace, so I aimed for 7.5-7.6 pace on the treadmill for  each 400 meter section, jogging slowly on the 200 meter intervals (about a 5.5-6) for recovery.  Then I did about 8 minutes at a 5.5 to cool down.  It seriously kicked my butt!  We’re talking almost 32 minutes of intervals there, kids!  Phew!

**********************************************************************************************************

We’re into day 3 with good ol’ butternut this week, and I’ve got to say, tonight’s dinner was an unexpected departure from my usual!

When I was in Charlottesville a couple of weeks ago, there was a sweet potato salsa on my burrito bowl that I totally dug and have been dreaming of ever since.  Craving a little Mexican tonight, I thought the sweet butternut squash might be reminiscent of my sweet potato salsa.

Confession time: I am wiped out.  I was feeling completely lazy tonight, so while I wanted a delicious meal, I didn’t want to put in much effort. Enter: Squash Taco Salad! Sounds strange, tastes delicious (I promise)!

This isn’t really a recipe.  It’s more of a “throw everything you have in a bowl that’s Mexican and call it a taco salad.”  But, in the interest of sharing, here’s what I did.

Squash Taco Salad

I had about 2 cups of roasted squash leftover, so I threw it in a pan and reheated it in the oven until it was just warmed through.  The stars of my salad waited patiently nearby:

That’s Garden Gourmet Artichoke Garlic salsa and Garlic Gold Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette.  I may have a garlic problem.  Then again, when is garlic ever a problem?  😉

I love all of the fresh salsas from Garden Gourmet, but this one might be my favorite.  It is seriously addictive, as evidenced by my pre-meal snackage:

But, as usual, I digress.  This is a typical problem for me.  For instance, in the process of making this salad, I took a small detour and cleaned my makeup brushes.  I wish I were kidding.

So fresh and so clean clean

Aaaaaaaaand back to salad!

I tossed my mixed greens with the vinaigrette and topped them with canned, rinsed black beans, a big scoop of salsa, crushed tortilla chips, Mexican cheese blend, and the warmed squash.  Done!  So simple!  So delish!  And that Mexican craving?  Squashed!

I had a lot more squash than this, but I threw the rest on after I snapped the pic.  Can’t have the squash stealing the whole show now, can we?

I know it may sound a little different, but the combo of flavors and textures was so tasty!

I love it that this meal took about 5 minutes to throw together and that I had everything on hand.  No muss, no fuss!  I really do like playing in the kitchen, but some days, you just have to phone it in, ya know?

Regardless, I’ve been plenty busy squashing things all day!  Cravings, workouts, Thursday . . . I’m ready to get my weekend on!

What’d you squash today???

Leave a reply

