As It Turns Out . . .

Whew!  Today has been a busy one!  This morning was filled with preparations for the launch party tomorrow.

eBook copies all set to go!

Ready with the T-shirts, too! 🙂

After a busy morning, we headed to Whole Foods for lunch!  I always forget about Whole Foods as an option for actual pre-made meals, but Mom was on the ball!

We shared a turkey, apple, and brie sandwich on the most amazing grainy roll:

Seriously.

I had to fill a container with a bunch of goodies from the salad bar, too!

Roasted veggies, kale salad, cabbage salad, roasted beets, huge pieces of roasted sweet potato, artichoke hearts, cherry tomatoes, a little sprinkle of blue cheese, and sesame ginger vinaigrette!

Holy deliciousness!  This was the first time I had tried kale, and it was quite tasty!  This version had a lot of citrus to season it.  I think I might have to give it a whirl at home!

All with a tasty grapefruit LaCroix on the side.  Love this stuff!

I was totally full, but the gelato counter was calling . . .

Sea Salt Caramel?  Pistachio?  Cake Batter?  How to choose???  I had several samples before settling on the coconut.  Best thing I’ve ever put in my mouth.  (Totally giggled when I wrote that–sorry, I have a dirty mind!) 😀

Hello Happiness in a Cup!!!

After lunch, we headed to the mall for more shopping!  Unfortunately, we didn’t have a ton of luck, but I found a few cute things at Forever 21, and Mom scored a cute pink handbag at Aldo.  They actually had about half a dozen pairs of shoes that I would have snapped up in 2 seconds.  Alas, shoes come in boxes, and my carry on luggage doesn’t have a whole lot of extra room for purchases.  At least we have Aldo in Richmond! 😉

Between shopping and dinner, we went to Saturday night mass at church.  When I lived here, I went to church and dinner almost every Saturday night with my parents, so it was nice to do that again.

I really liked the Gospel tonight.  It was about building your foundation on rock rather than upon sand.  For a long time, I was trying to build a life on sand, without ever even laying down a foundation.  Now, I’ve realized that I need to find a stable ground for myself and my life.  I’m working on that now, so that when I start to build on my foundation, everything beneath will be solid.  I know I’m not there yet, but I’m glad I’m aware of it!  I love it when I take something so meaningful and relevant from church–totally fills me up! 😀

In keeping with our Saturday tradition, we headed into town after church for a little dinner.  A new restaurant, Mangiamo’s, just opened, so we decided to try it out.  After a quick wait at the bar, we were seated at a cozy table in the back.  I ordered a Schell’s FireBrick Ale to start.  I hadn’t seen or tried it before, and really, I just ordered it because I saw the tap at the bar and it looked really cool–like a brick chimney!  I have such discriminating taste.

It was malty and hoppy and really really tasty!  {I know, I’m such a critic ;)}

Mangiamo’s food and service were both great, but they still have a few kinks to work out.  My mom ordered potato skins for her entree, which came out first.

About 5 minutes later, my dad’s Italian sub arrived.

This had capicola ham, Genoa salami, prosciutto, provolone, creamy Italian dressing, lettuce, and tomato all on homemade bread.  Thank goodness my dad let me have a couple of bites!  I was pretty hungry at this point, and this sucker was spot on!  YUM!

Finally, about 10 minutes later (when my parents were both about finished with their meals), my pizza arrived!

That’s bacon, feta, and tomato on hand tossed crust!  Best pizza combo ever!  It was delish–salty and cheesy with a great chewy crust.  If only all of our food had arrived at the same time . . . 😦

I had a couple of pieces, but I really wanted to try some dessert!  I settled on a hot fudge brownie sundae.

It looked incredible.  It tasted . . . well, not good.  The brownie was so stale I could barely cut through it.  Bummer.  Ah, well.  Better luck next time!  They’ve only been open about a week, so I’m sure it will improve!

By the time we finished dinner, the snow was really coming down.  Lucky for us, Dad offered to get the car.  We’ve transitioned from rain to snow to ick ick ick!!!  I was a little sad back in January that I was missing out on winter–you know, cozy snow days by the fire and all that–but as it turns out . . . I have no love for winter whatsoever!  One day of it was more than enough for me!  I’ll head back to Richmond now, thank you very much!

I always kind of had it in mind that I would come back to Michigan when I made my move last summer, but now I’m not so sure.  I really like living in a mild, sunny climate.  I mean really really like it.  May have to rethink a few things!  But not tonight!  Tonight, I’m going to bed!

G’night folks!

4 thoughts on “As It Turns Out . . .

  1. Everytime I go into ALDO, I feel like I could walk out with every pair of shoes in there! 🙂 They have a pair of nude colored pumps I’m hoping will go on sale soon 🙂

    • I just got some super cute nude pumps at Ross for like $30–if you have Ross or TJ Maxx near you, check it out. I feel like last year’s nude pumps are showing up in places like that for cheap!!!

Leave a reply

