Running on Fumes

How was your Monday???  My plane got in verrrrrry late last night, so I have been running on fumes all day.  Honestly, I don’t think I’ll be able to keep my eyes open much longer tonight!  Even though I was totally beat this afternoon, I made myself exercise, and it made me feel 1000 times better.  Now, you’re probably thinking it’s nuts to exercise when you’re exhausted, but I did have a bit of a method to my madness!

Rewind to Sunday morning.

Yesterday, my 10K training plan called for 7.75 miles.  In Richmond where it was mid 50s and overcast?  No problem!  In Michigan, where the windchill was 14*, and the sidewalks were all covered in snow and ice?  Not that much.  I don’t think I have ever been that cold!  My hands were numb until about the 5th mile, when they seemingly thawed out.  Still, when I got home, the return of circulation was extremely painful.  I couldn’t even speak and had to fight back tears because the pain was so intense.  So while I was sad to leave my family, I was anxious to get back to my mild Virginia weather!

After my freezing cold run yesterday and then sitting on a plane last night, my muscles were tight tight tight!  I felt like I really needed to stretch my legs today to work out some of the kinks.  Even though I was totally dragging, I pulled it together to do an easy 60 minutes on the elliptical.  I wasn’t planning on going that long, but my legs didn’t loosen up until about 35 minutes in, so I really wanted to give them a chance to recover.  Followed up with a few minutes of yoga to really stretch it out, and I felt A TON better!

*********************************************************************************************************

Even though my workout rejuvenated me a bit, I still wanted some comfort food for dinner.  I have a really busy week this week, so I didn’t want to commit to purchasing too many perishable items at the grocery store tonight.  So this week’s Party of One meals will be a pantry edition of sorts!

It should be obvious by now that I am in love with paninis, so my decision for dinner tonight was an easy one.  Enter the Bagelwich Breakfast Panini starring a luscious blueberry bagel!

Can I just tell you the smell of this is insane??? I would smell them through the bag when I picked them up, in the car as I drove home, and in the entire kitchen while I was putting this together.  I think I can still smell them now!  YUM!

To put together my bagelwich, I started by cooking an egg overeasy and microwaving a couple pieces of turkey bacon.  While that was happening, I schmeared my bagel halves with a little Smart Balance Light.

Bagels are bettah with buttah!

To assemble, I layered a slice of cheddar, my egg, and the bacon onto one side of the bagel.  The other side got special treatment:

Yes, that would be a sticky sweet puddle o’syrup.  I dunkaroo’ed the top in the syrup to get a nice coating.  (Who remembers Dunkaroos?  Do they still make those?  Where can I get them?!)

Onto the hot Griddler she goes!

I made sure to do a hefty coating of non-stick spray because I wasn’t sure what the syrup would do on there.  I’m happy to report there was no stick-age!

Check out the drip-factor:

This was smelling pretty phenomenal by now, but it wasn’t ready quite yet, so I dug into one of these:

Yep, another batch of Applesauce Oatmeal Muffins!  I whipped ’em up for breakfasts this week, but I really needed to try them because I added a few extras!  In addition to my usual recipe, I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the wet ingredients and used dried cherries, diced walnuts, and coconut for my mix-ins.  All good decisions as far as I can tell! 🙂

The coconut made them so moist!

Finally, the wait was over!

Served up with some poppable grape tomatoes and extra syrup on the side for dippin’!

Mmmmm mmmmm good!

I love breakfast for dinner!  So easy and great comfort food, if you ask me.  When we were kids, my mom would always make us breakfast for dinner when my dad was out of town and it was such a treat!  I feel the same way about it today. 🙂

*********************************************************************************************************

I don’t know if it’s the fact that I’m so tired or that I’ve been traveling or what, but I have been feeling totally drained the last few days.  There seems to be a lot of heavy emotional stuff bubbling just beneath the surface.  I’ve been trying to keep it at bay, but I don’t know how much longer I’m going to be able to hold it together.  I have a feeling a good cry will take care of it, but it hasn’t come.  I guess that just means I’m not quite ready for it yet!  This whole healing/happiness thing is a process, and I’m learning that some days are better than others, but it’s going to take a while for all of that pain and frustration to be totally gone.  I’ve accepted that bad days are a part of it, too, and that I need to learn to cope with those days.  I think getting back to my usual routine will help.  Being that I am a total creature of habit, I find comfort in routines, so I’m sure that it can’t hurt!

And with that round of rambling done, I am turning in early for the night!

Do you like routines?  Or would you prefer to mix it up?

6 thoughts on “Running on Fumes

Leave a reply

