The Old Man is Snoring

That’s right folks!  It’s raining!

It’s pouring!

The old man is . . . well, you know. 🙂

Drip drop!

I don’t know about you, but rainy days make me want to curl up on the couch and stay home!  The fact that I get Monica hair when the weather is rainy and humid makes me want to stay home, too!

Contained!

Even though it’s in the 60s, the damp is making me feel totally ick!  I did some Bethenny yoga and headed for the kitchen to whip up some comfort food!  Enter Party of One soup!

As I mentioned earlier this week, I’ve had a busy few days, so I’m working with easy pantry/freezer meals this week!  This one fit the bill perfectly!

Tortellini Florentine Soup

1/2 T. olive oil

1/3 cup diced onion

1 T. minced garlic

1 can diced tomatoes in juice

1 can low sodium chicken broth

1/2 tsp. oregano

1 1/2 cups frozen cheese tortellini

1 cup frozen spinach

S&P to taste

Freshly grated Parmesan cheese

While I was making this tonight, I realized that I take a lot of pictures of sauteing onions.

Yep, here they are again!  Guess they’re the basis of most of my recipes!  So, you start out by sauteing the diced onion in some olive oil over medium heat for about 5 minutes.  Add in the garlic and cook for an additional minute, before dumping in the tomatoes, broth, and oregano.

Bring it to a boil and add in the tortellini.  Cook for about 2-3 minutes, then throw in the spinach.  Season it up with S&P to taste.

Stir it around to heat through, and that’s it!  Easiest soup recipe EVER!

Well, that’s just lovely as is.  But I had some of this:

So I put it here:

That was a very good decision.  I can’t think of a time when cheese has ever been a bad decision.  No brainer.

Served up with a little bread on the side, this was some great, quick comfort food!

I’ve been in the mood to bake all day, so I’m headed into the kitchen to play with this:

Cookies?  Cake?  Funfetti cookie dough?  Funfetti . . . brownies??? What shall I make???

The key here is for me to exercise restraint and not eat all of what I bake!  I’m committed to not eating mindlessly, so this will be my first real test.  I have a lot of trouble with self control around baked goods.  I guess you could say they’re a bit of a weakness for me!  Wish me luck!

Chips?  Cookies?  Ice Cream?  What’s your food weakness?

4 thoughts on “The Old Man is Snoring

  1. Love the pic of Monica. That is definitely my hair when it gets really humid. Lots of throwing my hair up in a messy bun those months! Now, what is funfetti brownies?

    • As of right now, a failed recipe! I really want to figure out a way to make the cake mix into a more brownie-like consistency. Haven’t figured it out yet, but I will definitely post it when I do! I’m determined!

Leave a reply

