Shamrock the Block

Winning!

(Sorry, I am even annoying myself now with that one).

But today was definitely a winning day at Shamrock the Block!  I headed down to Shockoe Bottom with the girls for a little St. Patty’s Day fun!

It was packed!

{Can’t wait to go back to this farmer’s market!}

We wandered around, mostly just people watching, stopping off for a beer at one of the cute outdoor patios.

And then wandering in and out of a few more bars . . .

There was an amazing view from the rooftop deck at Havana:

This doesn’t do it justice, so you’ll have to just trust me on this one! 😉

There were soooooo many people everywhere!  It was a great place to see lots of creative St. Patty’s Day getups.  I’m not quite bold enough to photograph ridiculous looking people incognito, so I guess you’ll have to trust me on that one, too! 😉

Danielle and Claire, my dog-owning pals, were smitten with little Albert at the ASPCA booth:

Danielle & Albert

Claire & Albert

They were brave and left little Albert to be adopted by someone else today!  We looked for another bar to hang out in, but honestly, they were all so noisy and college-like.  My feet were sticking to the floor, it smelled like vomit, we couldn’t hear each other without shouting.  Yes, I realize I sound like a grandma.  Guess I’m just getting too old to hang! 😦

I do love going out, but there are some places where I just have to draw the line.  Sticky floors and vomit smell are about my limit.  I still had a great time hanging out with my girls, though!

Looking at this last pic, I can see that we had all pretty much had it at this point!  Awe, shucks!  We took our old lady butts back to Danielle’s and chilled out on the deck with a couple of cocktails and some snacks.  I had so much fun just catching up with them and having some girl time.

Don’t forget to spring your clocks forward tonight!  I’m off to set mine now–gotta be up for my Pavement Pounders run tomorrow morning!  We’ve got 8.25 miles on the agenda, but we’re running through The Fan again, so I’m pumped!

Goodnight!

 

Leave a reply

