I Licked the Bowl

I don’t know about you, but I kicked Monday in the facehole!  Take that, Monday!  You’re no match for me!

I am the biggest nerd alive 🙂

I had a great workout this afternoon, thanks to a little Body by Bethenny and Jackie Warner’s Power Circuit!

I picked up the DVD yesterday at Target because it’s not on my Exercise TV anymore. 😦

I’m not a big weights person, but I really love that this is a complete workout.  The few times I did it On Demand, I felt like I really started to get results, so I decided to go ahead and buy it.  For $15, I think it’s a good investment–much cheaper than a gym membership, where I would probably not do any weights on my own anyway!

So after my random lack of appetite due to the time change, it was back tonight with a vengeance!  Since I got these little guys at Trader Joe’s yesterday, I decided to focus my Party of One recipes on them!

The 'shrooms are where it's at!

Tonight’s dinner?  Well, I have to tell you that while it would impress even the toughest dinner guest, it was so easy and fun, too!  Presenting . . .

Spinach & Mushroom Risotto

Serves one

You need:

1 1/4 cup chicken broth

1/2 T. olive oil (I used Garlic Gold)

2 T. finely diced onions

1 tsp. finely chopped garlic

1/4 tsp. crushed dried thyme

1/2 cup chopped Cremini (baby bella) mushrooms–or whatever kind you like

1/2 T. Smart Balance Light

1/4 cup Arborio rice

2 T. red wine (or white wine or broth or cooking sherry)

a big handful of baby spinach

2 T. freshly grated Parmesan cheese

a squeeze of lemon juice

I have always been a little intimidated by risotto.  I made it a few years ago, and it just wasn’t anything special.  Now, I know that people love risotto, so I was sure that I just didn’t get it right.  I was a little gun-shy to try again, though, because it was such a disappointment last time.  I’m glad I was brave because this is gooooooood.  Really good.  Actually, I’m glad that I made a single portion because I could easily eat many many portions of this.

Like any good cooking experience, I started with this:

Hey, it’s Monday.  Mondays are hard.  A drink is in order!

Now that that’s out of the way, back to risotto!  Even though it requires a little bit of babysitting, it really is easy.  Here’s how:

1. Heat chicken broth over low heat in a small saucepan.

2. Heat olive oil over medium low heat in a small sauté pan.  Add onion and cook for about 5 minutes until onion is translucent.

3. Add mushrooms, garlic, and thyme.  Saute about 5 minutes, until mushrooms are browned evenly.  Season lightly with S&P.

4. Add Smart Balance Light and stir to melt and coat the mushrooms.  Add in the Arborio rice and stir to coat it with the butter.  Toast the rice for about 2 minutes.

5. Add your wine and cook, stirring gently, until the wine has evaporated.

6. Add in ¼ cup of warm broth and stir with a wooden spoon until it has absorbed.

7. Then, add ¼ cup broth at a time, letting all of the broth absorb before each new addition.  Make sure you stir it gently as the broth absorbs.  You don’t have to stir it the whole time, just keep an eye on it.  Over medium low heat, it should take 4-5 minutes for each addition to absorb.  When you add the last of the broth, top it with the spinach.

8. Stir and let it cook 4-5 minutes more until all of the broth is absorbed and the spinach is wilted.  Stir in 1-2 T. freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

Almost there!

9. Season with S&P to taste plus a squeeze of fresh lemon juice & serve!

The end result should be creamy (not mushy) and delicious!

Served up with a little garlic bread on the side

Please ignore the greedy bite out of my bread 😉

Come closer!

So when I took this pic, some of the risotto may have fallen onto my camera.  I may or may not have licked it off.  (Hangs head in shame).

But then again . . .

I pretty much licked the bowl clean, too! 😀

Honestly, for something I usually consider super fancy, this was surprisingly easy!  Just be patient with it, and you’ll have some deeeee-lish risotto in no time!  I think it took about 30 minutes from start to finish.  Not bad at all, if you ask me!

And while it’s not suuuuper healthy, there are much worse things in the world for you!  I went light on the olive oil and cheese, included oh so good for you spinach, and kept it meat-free with ‘shrooms!  The individual portion is *KEY* here.  If I had made a full recipe for 4 people, I assure you I would have eaten at least 3 portions.  It really is that good!

Now that my tummy’s full, I’m kicking back on my couch for the night.

Can you stop at one portion, or do you need a single serving to keep yourself in check???

4 thoughts on “I Licked the Bowl

Leave a reply

