Trouble Sleeping

I’ve had trouble sleeping my whole life.  But the last couple of nights, it’s been especially bad.  Not only can I not fall asleep, I can’t stay asleep. 😦

When it comes to remedies, I think I’ve tried just about everything under the sun.

  • Tea
  • Sleeping pills (both over the counter and prescribed)
  • Melatonin
  • Stretching
  • Counting sheep
  • Warm milk
  • Breathing exercises
  • Music
  • Rain machine

When I was little, my mom made up “the relaxing game” to try to get me to sleep.  It involved moving through every part of my body separately, starting with my feet.  I had to think about all the things my feet did that day–running, walking, jumping, skipping, etc.  Then, I would squeeze them as tight as I could.  “Tight tight tight!” Mom would say, “And relax ’em.”  She would coach me through every part of my body until I was relaxed and ready for sleep.  Sometimes it worked!  I still try it on occasion.  But the last few nights, nothing seems to be doing it. 

This is my very sleepy (and somewhat desperate!) plea. 

What do you do when you can’t sleep? 

4 thoughts on “Trouble Sleeping

  1. Jessica says:

    I have always had trouble sleeping, too. Sadly, the only thing that has helped my sleep as an adult is adjusting my stress levels caused by my jobs. I have noticed when I’m not a teacher I sleep better. The anxiety of teaching really disturbs my sleeping abilities. Also, I work out more to get my body nice and tired, but I know you work out plenty! For the most part, I slept well working at TS(the former job), but stressful situations that occurred there made it difficult to sleep at times. So, for me, its always about stress…I guess I just need to manage stress better :p

    • I think teaching is definitely part of it–I can’t turn my brain off! Thinking back, I did sleep a little better when I wasn’t teaching. Interesting.

      Stress is always a factor. I’ve never been good with it! :/

Leave a reply

