Food Dancer

Hello friends!  How’s Tuesday treating you?  Today hasn’t been too shabby at all! 

I was incredibly productive after work today! 

First up, I completed my last track workout of my 10K training program on the treadmill while watching Ellen.  Thank you, Ellen, for making my workout fly by!

logo_ellen_full

I warmed up with 15 minutes at 6.0 or 10 minute pace.  Then, it was time for mile repeats!  In high school cross country, mile repeats were my most dreaded workout.  If I knew they were coming the next day at practice, I would imagine scenarios in which I could possibly get hurt that night or the next day so that I could avoid them.  I know, I have issues

When I saw them on the calendar for today,  I tried (successfully) not to think about it!  Until I was actually on the treadmill, I didn’t give ‘em much thought.  After my 15 minute warm up, though, it was go time!  I only had to do 2, so that made it bearable.  I ran at 7.5 (which equates to my target race-pace–8 minute pace) for the first mile and completed it fully intact!  Phew!  I walked for about 3 minutes, then tackled the next one.  The whole time I was thinking, “Anyone can do anything for 8 minutes!”  I find I use this mantra a lot when I’m doing a harder workout.  What do you tell yourself to get through a toughie like this?

After the mile repeats, I just had to do 2 X 400 meters at the same pace with 400 meters of rest in between.  It actually felt really easy after the full miles, so I knocked them out without much trouble.  I finished up with 15 minutes at 5.5-6.0 pace.  I hope all of these workouts pay off come Saturday! 

Workout completed, I took my sweaty self to Target (to spend $65 on God knows what), and Kroger for some fresh fruit.  Even though my dinners are coming from the pantry, I need my fruit during the day!  Then, it was home to do my chores!

Even though I wasn’t sure how weeknight chores were going to go, so far it’s been pretty manageable.  I even made up a little chart so I can keep track of what I need to do, which makes me giddy because I love things like charts!  Organizing makes me all bubbly inside! Smile

Day Job
Monday Dust & Vacuum
Sweep floors
Tuesday Clean bathroom
Kitchen sink & counters
Wednesday Laundry
Thursday Pick up around the apartment (clothes, piles of mail, other assorted accumulated stuff)
Mop floors

I hope I can keep this up because I really like the idea of coffee and Food Network on Saturday morning!  It’s motivating me so far!

*************************************************************************************************

Wowowowowowowow!!!!  Dinner made me dance tonight!  Are you a food dancer?  When something tastes really good, sometimes I have to do a little dance to celebrate how good it is!  So what made me dance?  Well, as you know, it’s Pantry Week over here at the HHH house, so I whipped up a Lemon Garlic Tuna Burger with some sweet potato fries on the side.

This “burger” was AH-mazing!  I loved every last morsel!  You probably even have everything you need for it in your pantry, so please go ahead and make it now.  {I can even wait.  It’s that fast!}

Lemon Garlic Tuna Burger

Inspired by this recipe!

Serves 1

1/2 can tuna in water, drained (don’t worry—I’ll give you a recipe for the rest, too!)

2 T. minced onion

1/2 T. minced garlic

1/2 T. lemon juice

3 tsp. egg substitute

2 T. breadcrumbs

1 T. part skim ricotta cheese

1/4 tsp. dried thyme, crushed

S&P to taste

1 English muffin

1/2 piece muenster cheese (or any cheese you like)

Dump everything from tuna to S&P into a bowl.  Mix it up and shape it into a patty. 

Tuna Burger & SP fries 012

Place in a greased baking dish and bake at 400* for 20 minutes.

And then you’ll have this.

Tuna Burger & SP fries 013

Throw a little cheese on top and pop it back into the oven to melt the cheese while you toast your English muffin.

Tuna Burger & SP fries 017

Um, yeah.  This was beeeeeeyond my expectations!  Seriously, so SO good!  Think tuna melt, but better.  I wasn’t sure how the ricotta would be in there . . .

{Honestly, I have a tub of ricotta in my fridge, and I was just trying to use it up!}

. . . but it made it so creamy and moist.  It’s love.  Truly.  I could have eaten 4 of these!  And since they’re actually pretty good for you, you could eat 4!  Open-mouthed smile

But I needed a little something on the side.  Enter good ol’ sweet potato fries!

Yep, a “bonus” recipe for ya tonight!

Sweet Potato Fries

1 sweet potato

Spicy Montreal Steak Seasoning

Cooking spray

Peel up your ‘tater.

Tuna Burger & SP fries 003

Nekkid.

Then, slice it up into little fry shapes.  Be careful not to cut yourself! 

{Have to give the warning when you’re as accident-prone as I am!}

Tuna Burger & SP fries 004

Spray the heck out of ‘em with the cooking spray and season with whatever you like.  My favorite is Spicy Steak Seasoning, but garlic salt and thyme are really good, or onion salt and chili powder.  The possibilities truly are endless!

Tuna Burger & SP fries 006Tuna Burger & SP fries 008

Now, this part is *key.*  I don’t know who thought of this first, but they have my undying gratitude. 

Place a cooling rack on top of your cookie sheet and coat it with cooking spray.  Then, lay the fries on top, like so.

Tuna Burger & SP fries 009

This allows the air to circulate all the way around the fries, creating the perfect crisping environment!  Genius! 

Put these into the 400* oven about 10 minutes before you put the burger in.  Essentially, this works out perfectly.  You do the fries, get those going, then throw the burger together and pop it in 10 minutes later.  Voila!

Tuna Burger & SP fries 010

Crispy fries and perfect burger ready at the same time! 

Tuna Burger & SP fries 014

Now everyone can get acquainted! Winking smile

I feel that I am constantly begging you to make foods, but will you pretty please make this meal?  (See how nicely I asked???)  You will NOT be disappointed!  (See the caps and bold lettering?  That means I’m serious!)

OK, I’ll stop begging, but I do hope you try this.  And if you like it, let me know so I can be validated.  I’m needy like that. 

Off to watch my DVR’ed Bethenny Ever After! 

See, Tuesday’s not so bad!  Open-mouthed smile

2 thoughts on “Food Dancer

Leave a reply

