Nightly Ritual

GAH!!!!  Not Sunday night again!  Why must you come so quickly, Sunday night?  Couldn’t you wait just a teeny bit longer???  I am loving my weekend . . .

I guess I can’t complain too too much.  I did have a nice day today, and spring break is only 2 weeks away, so I guess I can stand going back to work tomorrow. 

I had a pretty chill day today that included church, baby gift buying, grocery shopping, and even a little TV watching!  Open-mouthed smile

And I took the day off from working out.  Most days, I really want to work out, but today I felt like resting.  So I did.  It’s been great, and I don’t feel one bit of guilt.  Sometimes you need a rest day, ya know?

Also, the forecast looks like this for tomorrow!

2011-04-03_1954

I plan on taking full advantage with a nice long run after work!  Woot woot!

After a relaxing day, I decided to whip up a Party of One version of one of my favorite Giada recipes!

gdl2

In my dreams, I cook gourmet meals in my amazing kitchen while wearing cute outfits.  My hair falls perfectly, too.  Just in case you were wondering. Winking smile

I love Giada’s recipes so much, and my scaled-back version was pretty tasty, if I do say so myself!  (And I do!)

Grilled Shrimp & Vegetable Orzo Salad

Serves 1

1 cup chicken broth

¼ cup orzo pasta

5 shrimp (about 2 oz)

3 ½” round slices eggplant

3 ½” round slices tomato

½ cup canned cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

¼ cup chopped fresh basil

½ lemon, juiced

½ T. olive oil

S&P

Cooking spray

Put the chicken broth on high heat to boil and preheat grill or grill pan to medium-high. Slice up the eggplant and tomatoes.

Outfits and Orzo 016Outfits and Orzo 017

Once the broth comes to a boil, add in the orzo and cook about 8-10 minutes. Drain.

Outfits and Orzo 019

While the orzo cooks, spray the shrimp, eggplant, and tomato with cooking spray and season with S&P. First, get the eggplant onto the grill. It will take about 4 minutes per side. When you turn the eggplant to grill the second side, add the tomato and shrimp to the grill. Finish grilling the eggplant, and turn the shrimp and tomato halfway through, about 2 minutes of grilling per side.  Slice up the basil while the veggies and shrimp grill.

Outfits and Orzo 026

Put the orzo and cannellini beans into a large bowl together. Take the grilled eggplant and tomato, and cut into bite sized pieces. Add to bowl with the shrimp and basil. Add lemon juice, olive oil, S&P, and toss to combine.

Outfits and Orzo 027

Ta da!!!!  Light, fresh, and easy!  I love the lemon and fresh basil in this dish!  Lotsa texture and freshness going on here—no complaints on my end!

Outfits and Orzo 028Outfits and Orzo 029

Isn’t she pretty?  I have decided that I photograph my food the way other people photograph their children.  I just adore it!  It can do no wrong!  It is so precious! 

Well, it’s nearing the end of the evening, so it’s time for my nightly ritual.  Oh the agenda:

  • Make coffee and set auto-timer
  • Fill water bottle
  • Make breakfast and lunch for tomorrow
  • Pick out clothes (hopefully nothing that needs to be ironed!)

Without fail, I do these 4 things every night before I have to work.  It just makes my mornings so much easier and gives me one less thing to lay awake thinking about! Smile

Off I go!

Do you have any nightly rituals that help you get ready for the morning?  Please share! 

3 thoughts on “Nightly Ritual

  1. That orzo salad does look pretty tasty. Can you send that stuff through computers?
    Oh, and nightly rituals? I have none. It’s true. I just freak out in the morning. Well, except brushing my teeth. I can be stumbling drunk…and I still brush my teeth before bed.

Leave a reply

