That’s A Whole Lotta Cute!

HIHIHIHIHIHIHIHIHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII!!!!!!!!!!!

Whew!  That’s one heck of a greeting for a Monday!  I’ll try to take it down a couple notches for ya, just in case you just can’t do happy on Monday.

mondayeleven

I’m riding high on endorphins from a great run in perfect 80* and breezy weather—pretty much ideal in my book!  I love it when it’s warm and get to get nice and sweaty.  Honestly, I feel like I get a better workout when I really sweat it up.  Gross, I know, but true!  My legs felt much better today than they did on Saturday, so I’ve pretty much moved on from that disappointment.  Onto the next! 

On a much nicer note, I also got to hold a brand new baby today!  My co-worker, Will, and his wife, Jacquie, welcomed their first son on Friday, so I got to go meet little Liam after school.  Um, he is perfect.  Such a little sweetie.  I wasn’t even mad when he peed all over me.  That’s a whole lotta cute! Open-mouthed smile


After running and baby holding, I came home to knock out my Monday night chores! 

  1. Dust
  2. Vacuum
  3. Sweep

I think it took me about 12 minutes to get it all done.  Time well spent, I’d say!  I loved having my weekend mornings free last weekend, so I think I’ll stick with this method!

I was about ready to eat my arm by the time I got my chores done and showered, so I threw together a super quick dinner while munching on a random hunk ‘o cucumber I found in my produce drawer.

White Bean & Garlic Salad 001

What?  You don’t just chomp on your produce?  Sorry, I’m uncivilized! Embarrassed smile

Dinner tonight was so fast and easy!  I hesitate to even really call it a recipe because I didn’t measure anything, but I will share my method with approximate amounts since I really think you should try it!

White Bean & Garlic Salad

1-1 1/2 cups white beans, rinsed & drained (I used 1 cup because it was what I had leftover from the beans I used last night)

1 tsp. Garlic Gold (You could use olive oil + minced garlic instead—just toss it in a pan for a few seconds to get the garlic crunchy)

1/4 lemon, juiced

handful of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half

1 T. fresh basil, chopped

S&P to taste

1 whole wheat bagel, toasted

1. Throw the white beans in a bowl.  Or place them gently.  Your choice.

White Bean & Garlic Salad 003

Manhandled beans!

2. Add in the Garlic Gold.  Mmmmm . . . .

White Bean & Garlic Salad 004White Bean & Garlic Salad 005

3. Lemon juice!

White Bean & Garlic Salad 006

Wow, tan, beige, and yellow.  Quite the color palette, no?

4.  Season to taste with S&P and then . . . Do the mash . . . the Monster Mash!  (Oh my, I am in a mood tonight, aren’t I?)

White Bean & Garlic Salad 007White Bean & Garlic Salad 008

Doesn’t look like much, eh?  Hang in there!

5. Slice up your tomatoes and basil.  Add ‘em in.

White Bean & Garlic Salad 009White Bean & Garlic Salad 011White Bean & Garlic Salad 012

6.  Gently fold it all together and mound it on top of a nice, chewy bagel.

White Bean & Garlic Salad 016

Can I just tell you that this was ready in the time it took the bagel to toast???  Love when dinner is just that quick!

White Bean & Garlic Salad 014

By the way, if you don’t have fresh basil or a lemon, you can sub in dried thyme (~1/2 tsp, crushed) and bottled lemon juice (~1/2 T.) instead.  I’ve done this before, and it was still tasty tasty tasty! 

Ahhhh well, it’s time for me to chill out on the couch for a bit before bed.  Hopefully, I can calm down from my runner’s high and get some shut eye tonight!  Probably would help if I stopped dancing around to the Monster Mash!  Yeeeaaahhhh . . .

G’night, friends!

Leave a reply

