All Kinds of Tricks

I’m thinking of changing the name of my blog.

How does “Watch Me Eat Roasted Vegetable Salads Like It’s My Job” sound?

Yeah, I guess it doesn’t really have much of a ring to it, huh?

I think I may just be the *teensiest* bit obsessed.  Tonight’s version was especially good, considering I used quite a few frozen veggies!  Didn’t know you could roast frozen veggies?

Stick with me, kids.  I’ve got all kinds of tricks up my sleeve! Winking smile

I also caramelized an entire onion for my single-serve salad, and I’m quite confident that it’s a contributing factor to the lovefest going on over here!

Alrighty then, let’s get to it, shall we?

Caramelized Onion & Roasted Vegetable Salad

1 medium onion, thinly sliced

sweet potato, peeled and diced

frozen brussel sprouts, cauliflower, and broccoli

handful of cherry tomatoes

handful of spinach

olive oil

lemon juice

S&P

brown sugar

balsamic syrup (just reduce balsamic vinegar in a saucepan until it gets thick & syrupy)

I don’t have a lot of exact amounts here because you can basically make as much or as little as you like.

Start out by slicing up the onion to caramelize.  Given that I can’t won’t stop talking about caramelized onions, I thought I’d give you a little tutorial this evening.

First, heat up your skillet over medium heat with about a tablespoon or so of olive oil.

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 011

Please excuse the state of my scrubby old skillet.  I know I need a new one, but the only way that’s going to happen is if I buy one or get married.  Since I don’t see either of those things happening anytime soon, this will have to do.

Incidentally, would it be ok for me to just register for gifts?  I mean, I’m past 30, single, no plans to get married . . . and I need stuff.  I bought stuff for all my married friends.  Just saying . . . Winking smile

Aaaaannnywaaaay . . . back to the onion.  The key here is to slice it nice and thin, and then break apart the slices so that it’s completely separated.

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 012Caramelized Onion RV Salad 013

Slide them into the pan with a little salt and pepper and stir to coat with the olive oil.

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 015Caramelized Onion RV Salad 016

Lower the heat to LOW.  Leave it there!  I mean it!  This is a process, but the time is worth the reward!

Now, you need to babysit them a little.  Stir them every 5 minutes or so for about 35 minutes total.

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 017Caramelized Onion RV Salad 018Caramelized Onion RV Salad 019Caramelized Onion RV Salad 020

Upper left: 5 minutes in

Upper right: 10 minutes

Lower left: 15 minutes

Lower right: 20 minutes

I toldya—slow going.  Be patient.

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 022Caramelized Onion RV Salad 023Caramelized Onion RV Salad 024

Now at 25, 30, and 35 minutes.  At the 35 minute mark, add about half a teaspoon of brown sugar.  Or dump half the bag in because you are too lazy to get a spoon out and swear like a sailor.  (Remove excess sugar from pan and move on).

But see, you need the sugar because then they look like this! Open-mouthed smile

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 028

Basically onion jam.  How can you be mad at that?

You’re probably wondering what the heck you’re supposed to do while all of this “onion-ness” is going on, right?  Well, laundry, for one (even though I still haven’t put mine away from last week).  Or you could shower if you take super fast showers.  Talking on the phone to Mom is a good option.  Oh, and you can also get the other veggies ready for your salad (duh).

Preheat the oven to 400*.  Spray the diced sweet potato with cooking spray and toss with a little brown sugar, cinnamon, S&P.  Spread it on a foil lined and sprayed cookie sheet.  Add frozen veggies to the sheet and spray them with cooking spray as well.  Season with S&P and put them into the oven for 25 minutes, flipping halfway through.

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 021

When about 8 minutes are left, add the cherry tomatoes to the cookie sheet, too.

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 029

You can also prep a bed of spinach for your salad while the veggies and onions are going.  I just tossed mine in a little olive oil and lemon juice, with Garlic Gold sea salt nuggets and pepper.

Assemble it all!

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 030

Hey pretty lady!

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 031Caramelized Onion RV Salad 032

As Sunny Anderson would say, “I am not mad at that at all!”

photo_mainSunnyAnderson

And check out these carmelized onions!

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 033

Heaven, I tell ya!  Pure heaven!

Day 3 of Melissa pretends to be a grown up:

Caramelized Onion RV Salad 034

Now if I just get some real napkins instead of a piece of paper towel, I’ll really be in business!

 


Are any of you Ally McBeal fans?  I loved Ally in the late 90s with her short skirts and dry quips.  Even now I can say she’s a girl after my own heart.

 

ally

Devotees to the show, do you remember how she used to imagine what she’d like to see happen to people when they did something she didn’t quite agree with???  Ah, that was the best!

Today, I was feeling a little Ally-like at work.  I think I just need a break.  This little clip pretty much sums up how I’m feeling.

Two days ‘til Spring Break! Open-mouthed smile

What’s the last time you felt like she does in this little clip??

2 thoughts on “All Kinds of Tricks

Leave a reply

