Flirting With My Food

I am worn out.  I’ve been feeling a bit out of sorts all afternoon, and I think I just need a break.  Good thing I only have one more day until Spring Break!  It will be rejuvenating to have some time off.  I need it. 

Knowing I was in this mindset, I should have come home, put on my running clothes, and got my butt right back out the door. 

Instead, I sat on the couch and played laptop.  I read a few blogs and checked my email, but I knew if I didn’t run I was going to feel a lot worse. 

And then I made myself make a good choice.  I got off the couch.  I changed my clothes.  I put on my shoes.

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 001

All the while, distractions taunted me.  I often find that while procrastinating, I use other tasks on my to do list to further my procrastination.  Do you know what I mean?  Like, instead of going running, the thought of putting away my laundry (which has been sitting in the basket for over a week) sounded pretty good.  And I noticed that the kitchen counters could really stand to be wiped down.  And I should really start packing for my trip to Seattle . . .

Repeat after me: Stay the course!  Do not let yourself be derailed—even in the name of productivity!  Get that workout in!

All the while, I really had to talk myself though it.  Fill the water bottle, get the headphones, pack the bag.  Ahem, leave the house!!!

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 002

It took some doing, but I did it!  Open-mouthed smile

5 miles—slow and steady.  Much better than playing laptop all afternoon! 


Even though I felt a little more energized after my run, I still wanted a little comfort food tonight, something hearty and soothing.  My mind automatically went to twice baked potatoes.  My makes these every Christmas Eve, and they are the best thing ever.  Loaded with cheese, butter, and sour cream, how could they not be?  In the same vain, but lightened up a bit, I decided to use this inspiration to create a Twice Baked Sweet Potato.  I’ve seen quite a few recipes for these around the web and wanted to try my own little version—just for one. Winking smile

Twice Baked Sweet Potato

Serves one.

1 sweet potato, washed and scrubbed

1 T. Smart Balance Light (or butter)

2 T. low fat ricotta cheese

1/2 onion, finely diced

1/2 T. garlic, finely minced

1 slice turkey bacon, cooked and diced

1 tsp. brown sugar

garlic salt

pepper

parmesan cheese, for sprinkling

Preheat the oven to 350*.

Prick the sweet potato all over with a fork and place it on a paper towel in the microwave.  Cook on high for 10 minutes (mine took a little less time), flipping halfway through.  Make sure you listen to your potato!  It will start to sputter and crackle when it’s ready. 

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 003

Come get me!!!

While the potato cooks, dice up the onion and get it into a skillet with a little olive oil over medium low heat.  Be sure to season it with S&P!  Alas, we’re not caramelizing here, but you just want to soften up the onions and get a little color on them.   It should take around 5 minutes.  Then, add in the garlic and saute for another 30 seconds.  Transfer the onions and garlic into a bowl with the butter, ricotta, bacon, brown sugar, pepper, and garlic salt. 

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 005

Go easy on the salt, because it will be a salty from the bacon.  Mix everything together and set aside.

Your potato should have cooled off a little bit my now.  Be careful, though!  He’s a hottie!

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 006

How YOU doin’???

Sorry, I like to flirt with my food. Smile

Carefully, slice off just the top of the potato and gently scoop out the insides.

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 006Twice Baked Sweet Potato 007Twice Baked Sweet Potato 008

Be gentle!  Remember, your filling is going back into that skin!  Add the scooped sweet potato to the cheese mixture.

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 009Twice Baked Sweet Potato 010

Not all that pretty to look at, but we’ll get there!  It was actually at this point that I decided to add in the brown sugar.  I tasted my filling and decided to up the sweet a little on my sweet/savory concoction.  Very good decision! 

Now you’re ready to put the filling back into the skin.  I recommend putting the skin onto a sprayed baking sheet beforehand because that sucker is about to get FULL!  So much easier if you don’t have to move it after that, right?

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 011Twice Baked Sweet Potato 012

Shazam! 

Now, that looks pretty good as it is, but go ahead and sprinkle a little freshly grated parm on top.  It’s what my mama does!  It’s the right thing to do! Winking smile

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 014

Into the oven for 15 minutes she goes!  Uh oh, I think I called her a “he” earlier.  My potato is going to have issues.  It’s ok, Mr. Potato.  Er, Mrs. Potato.  I love you no matter what you are!

After 15 minutes, turn the oven up to broil just to crisp up the top and edges.  Give it a few minutes under the broiler and it’s time to dine!

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 018

Yep, I said dine, ‘cuz that’s what you do at the table! 

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 020

I was quite pleased with my effort!  The perfect blend of sweet and savory, with a salty bite from the parm and the smokiness of the bacon. 

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 023

Open wide! Open-mouthed smile

I had an MGD 64 on the side.  I like all kinds of beers, but this one is perfect for when you want just a little something.  Very light and refreshing!

Twice Baked Sweet Potato 025

I’m thinking maybe I should call these “Twice Stuffed Potatoes,” because that’s how I’m feeling after eating this—stuffed!  It was just so good, I couldn’t stop eating it!  Good thing I got that run in this afternoon. 

Here’s to a night of relaxing on the couch.  Cheers!

10 thoughts on “Flirting With My Food

  1. I had an off sort of day too, but i ended up having to stay at work late, and by the time I got home, I just sat on the couch. Actually, I cleaned the house a little, and then sat on the couch. But no workout for me- great job getting out and pushing yourself!

  2. antoinette herrera says:

    I just had to come back here and tell you something about your recipe…I LOVE IT! I have never ever ever liked a sweet potato no matter how or which way people have made them, i dont know, i just never understood the marshmallow top thing. Could never get my taste buds to like the sweetness of the potato mixed with a regular savory dinner meal but you did the absolute perfect thing here! Only thing i did different here was use bleu cheese(because thats what i had on hand), regular bacon, and regular butter and multiplied this recipe by 5 since its 5 of us in this family. You made me a liker or the sweet potato! Thank you!

    Oh and i pinned your recipe onto Pinterest if you dont mind.

Leave a reply

