Real Dancing Action

Easter is coming, which means all kinds holiday-specific candy lining the shelves of stores everywhere.
Easter candy happens to be my favorite of all the holidays. Not sure why, but I don’t think Cadbury Cream Santa or Turkey would do it for me quite like the good old egg does.

By the way, what is that inside of them???

On second thought, I probably don’t want to know! 😉

The Cadbury Cream Egg was always my favorite growing up, and when my brother and I would make peace long enough on Easter Sunday to trade candy, he always let me have his.  What a good brother! 

Another fan favorite . . . Peeps!

Everyone knows you have to eat the entire package of Peeps in one fell swoop or they’ll go stale!  A perfect excuse in my book! 😀

Alternately, I suppose you could save them in a zip top bag, but who am I kidding?  I’m eating them all.

How about jellybeans???  As you may recall, I demolished the “Fave-Red” bag of all red Starburst jellybeans without any trouble.  I’m calling it training for the rest of my Easter-candy eating.

Now, here’s a shout out to an often forgotten Easter treat, the Caramel Egg!  Often eclipsed by the aforementioned Cream Egg, the Caramel Egg has always had a special place in my heart.

Sometimes, you get a Caramel Egg that is divided into 2 halves . . . please tell me you know what I’m talking about!  Or perhaps you’re not quite the connoisseur that I am. 😉

Last, but certainly not least, is the Reese’s Peanut Butter Egg. 

Just like any sane person, I like a good Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup.  But the chocolate around the edges is a little hard for my liking.  None of that nonsense gets in the way with the egg shape.  Just creamy creamy goodness.  Easily a favorite.  Good thing you can’t get these year round, or I’d be in some serious trouble!

Far and away, though, the best best best thing I ever got in my Easter basket was this:

Barbie and the Rockers!  That’s right!  She has “Real Dancing Action!”  Not sure what that means, but it must’ve meant a lot then.  It was 1987.  I was in love with all things neon and aerosol.  I also thought it was super cool to buy buttons with kitchy sayings like, “Don’t expect me to work! I get paid to stand around & look beautiful!” and “I don’t do Jane Fonda, I do Sara Lee!”  I was 7.  Yeah . . . Said buttons got pinned all over my jean jacket.  I was so cool. 

I also sprayed hot pink and green streaks into my (permed) hair and sported the “Be Fri” side of the “Best Friends” heart necklace.  You know you had one, too.

Well, now that I’ve taken you on a journey of all things chocolate and neon, I’ll leave you with this . . .

What is your favorite Easter candy?  Favorite childhood toy?

I’m going to have to go with the Reese’s Egg . . . followed closely by the Cadbury Cream Egg.  Oh, and Barbie for sure.  Barbie forever!

5 thoughts on “Real Dancing Action

  1. I’m a Cadbury and Reeses gal myself. Gotta have some self-control!!

    P.S. Did you ever have a pocket rocker? OMG, I had one and it was like a prehistoric ipod with little tiny tapes. I had Debbie Gibson and Heaven is a Place on Earth (don’t remember who sang it). hehe.

  2. Ick on the Peeps! They gross me out. But, I do love those whopper eggs – the malted milk chocolate things. And, I don’t know their names, but they are small eggs made by Cadbury that come in a purple bag & have a thin hard outer shell & chocolate on the inside. HEAVEN. Yum.

Leave a reply

