It’ll Make Your Skirt Fly Up

I feel like an old lady.

I am having such a great time in Seattle, but I am beat.  Make that BEAT!  {See how the capitalized, italicized, bold letters really reinforce my point???}

Shocking, I know.  Between all of the eating, sightseeing, and jet-lagging, I can’t imagine why I would be tired!  Smile

I think it especially shows, though, in this picture from yesterday afternoon’s pedicures.

 Seattle 3 001

Get that girl a nap!  The pedicure was wonderfully relaxing.  I think I may go back and just sit in that massage chair all day!  Open-mouthed smile

Seattle 3 002

After we got our toes all Spring-ified with pretty pinks, a Trader Joe’s stop was in order for the fixin’s for dinner!  You didn’t think I would come all the way to Seattle and not cook anything, did you??? 

Since it was Glee night, a few of Ali’s girlfriends came over for TV and Turkey Burgers!  We used one of my family’s favorite recipes, and it was a hit! 

These turkey burgers are the absolute BEST way to make a turkey burger at home.  We eat them at least once a week in the summertime, but you could definitely make them anytime.  And you’ll want to.  They are FANtastic!  And did I mention you top them with a blue cheese sauce that, as the Pioneer Woman says, will make your skirt fly up?  Oh yes. 

Turkey Burgers

Serves 4

1 package ground turkey

1 package turkey bacon

1 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning

1/2 cup blue cheese crumbles

1/2 cup sour cream

buns—Trader Joe’s makes really good multigrain buns or these are great on onion buns, too

Mix the poultry seasoning into the meat with your hands to distribute it evenly (I mix it right in the package the meat comes in—one less dirty dish!).  Score the meat to divide it into 4 burgers.  Shape the burgers into patties.  Then, wrap 2 slices of turkey bacon around each one, making an X on the top and wrapping the pieces around to the bottom.  Grill for ~8 minutes a side, depending on the heat of your grill.  You just want them to be cooked through because this is turkey—nothing less than well done, please! Smile

Top them with a sauce of equal parts blue cheese crumbles and sour cream, seasoned to taste with S&P.  It’s not much to look at, but I swear you will want to put this stuff on everything!

Seattle 3 004

We served ours with a fresh green salad and sweet potato fries, which were both fantastic decisions!

Seattle 3 005

Check it:

Seattle 3 006

I know it may seem that I put an excessive amount of sauce on this burger, but I assure you that you will want at least this much on there!  It makes the burger!  From experience, I can tell you that it is also delicious on your sweet potato fries, in case anyone was curious. Winking smile

Not to be outdone by the burgers were some Funfetti Cookies!  All you do with these is mix one box of any cake mix with 1/4 cup each of oil and water plus an egg, drop onto a greased cookie sheet, and bake at 350* for 10-12 minutes.  Done! 

Seattle 3 008Seattle 3 009Seattle 3 010

{Cookie photography by the lovely Alison!  She has some blogger in her, I tell ya! Smile}

Topping them with frosting is optional, but frosting is never a bad idea!

Our plans today include a trip downtown for some shopping, a visit to the first Starbucks, and exploring Pike’s Place Market!  I can’t wait!  The only thing I told Ali I really wanted to do here was see “the place where they throw the fish!” because I’m sophisticated like that!  I hear it’s going to be a walking day, so I might just sneak in a short run this morning and save my real energy for later!  

5 thoughts on “It’ll Make Your Skirt Fly Up

Leave a reply

