Piroshky Piroshky!

Can we talk about some food?  Would that be OK?  Because I cannot stop thinking about one of the most fantastic eating experiences I’ve ever had on the day I visited Pike’s Place in Seattle.

Seattle 4 025

Obviously, Pike’s Place is a farmer’s market so there are tons of fresh goodies to take home and make fabulous things out of, but it makes you hungry while you’re there, ya know???

After getting my latte from The First Starbucks, we ventured down the way to Piroshky Piroshky Bakery for what else?  Piroshky! Open-mouthed smile

Seattle 4 036

I had never even heard of Piroshky, which incidentally means “feast” in Russian.  It’s also really fun to say, but apparently really difficult to spell because I’m screwing up every time I try to type the name!

Honestly, I have no idea how I lived 30+ years without this.  I’m not sure now how I’ll go on living without warm Piroshky in my hands each day . . . it’s going to be trying.

Basically, Piroshky is a stuffed pie with different fillings.  They can be sweet or savory, and they have no calories.

Seattle 4 033

OK, not really.  Just had to make sure you were paying attention!

But would you check out the flavor selection???  Fresh rhubarb, chocolate cream hazelnut, and coffee on the sweet side and potato, onion, and cheese or potato, mushroom, and onion on the savory?  Hello!  These were just a few of the many offerings up for grabs.

You get to watch them making the Piroshky, too, which is one of the best parts if you ask me!

Seattle 4 035

Check it: a giant sheet of buttery dough dusted with cinnamon and wrapped around fresh apples!  Be still my heart.

After much deliberation, we selected a Potato, Onion, and Cheese Piroshky and a Coffee Cinnamon Roll to share.  The girl behind the counter was so friendly and sweet!  She even gave us a gigantic cinnamon roll that barely fit into the bag! Open-mouthed smile

Seattle 4 039

Can I just start by telling you that we had powdered sugar everywhere while we were eating this?  It was a cinnamon roll frenzy!  With a slightly crispy crust and a soft, cinnamony inside, this was absolutely scrumptious, and I don’t use words like scrumptious very often!

But the real star, my friends, was the Potato, Onion, and Cheese!

Seattle 4 037

It may have a slight advantage because it was still warm, but I’m sticking to my guns on this one.  Is there anything better on this Earth than baked goods fresh from the oven?  I think not.

But fill them with cheese and potato?

Well.

Seattle 4 038

Take the BEST bagel you’ve ever had, stuff it with gooey cheese and creamy potato, and then die and go to heaven.  Seriously.  I want one right now.

Seattle 4 041

Consumed on a bench overlooking the Port of Seattle.  Something about eating food in a park while looking out at the water just makes it taste better.  I can’t pinpoint exactly why, but it just does.

Side note: About 20 minutes after we finished our Piroshky, I had to brush a little powdered sugar off of Alison’s cheek.  I see this as something perfectly acceptable and in fact, desirable in an eating partner.  Way to keep it real, Al! Open-mouthed smile

9 thoughts on “Piroshky Piroshky!

  1. I’m so glad you went to Piroshky Piroshky – one of my FAVORITE places at Pike Place! I absolutely loooove the Beef and Cheese Piroshky.

  2. Hi Melissa,

    I’m glad you enjoyed the piroshky! I just wanted to offer a small correction, if I may. The word “piroshky” (or “pirozhki,” as it would be spelled if transliterated directly from Russian) does not mean “feast.” Rather, it means “small pies.” (One small pie is called “pirozhok” and a large pie is called “pirog.”) Linguists disagree about the etymology of the word, and one theory does maintain that it comes from the word “pir,” which means “feast.” Another popular theory holds that “pirog” comes from the ancient Slavic word “pyro,” which is a type of wheat.

Leave a reply

