Mama Wisdom

Good morning, friends!  I’ve got a few extra things going on this week, so my mom offered to guest post today!  A little background: my mom is a 30+ year veteran special education teacher.  Oh, and she just had her first novel, The Wrong Guy, published a couple of months back.  Yeah, I guess you could say she’s got it goin’ on!

Hope you enjoy some HHH Mama Wisdom on this Wednesday morning! Smile 

Hi! I’m Claudia, Melissa’s mom. As you can imagine, I feel so blessed to have such a talented daughter. I’m one lucky Mama! Over the years, Melissa and I have had many discussions about her frustration over trying different career paths and feeling like none of them quite measure up. Sometimes I think she feels like not knowing what she wants to do with her life is a weakness. I’m sure she feels discouraged at times, pressuring herself that she should have discovered career happiness by now.

clip_image002

If there’s one thing I’ve learned over the years, it’s this: Life is a journey, not a destination. As human beings we are constantly growing and changing. Some of us find a passion early and stick with it. For others of us, we like to switch it up with variety and new experiences. There are no rules. You can be whoever you want to be, and you get “do-different’s” if you want them.

We all feel pressured by society’s rules at times. If we could stop obsessing about the “rules” that society is subscribing, we could free ourselves up to pursue our dreams. Sure, you’ve got to put food on the table and pay the cable bill, but be sure to allow yourself to follow a path that you love; one that makes you feel fulfilled and appreciated. Stop living up to other people’s expectations, and discover yourself, over and over again.

29th Birthday 007

Here are a few other important lessons I’ve learned over the years. I hope they help remind you to take care of you!

  • There’s nothing you can’t do—you just have to practice.
  • Give freely; you’ll get more back.
  • Take care of your body, keep it strong.
  • Treats are important. Treat yourself just in case other people forget.
  • Treasure those that you love.
  • Celebrate your awesomeness.
  • Each season, we are blessed with a new wonder. Appreciate the wonders of the world.
  • It’s good to ask questions.
  • You are stronger than you think.
  • When you accomplish something, remember to pat yourself on the back.

Follow your heart. Find your passion. Don’t settle for less, even if you feel pressured from the outside to do things differently. You are smart. You know yourself better than anyone else. And if you don’t? You’ll figure it out! Smile

Thanks to my lovely daughter, Melissa, for letting me spend this time with you!

Shameless plug from me!  If you are interested in checking out the book, you can get it here, here, or here! It’s a great murder-mystery—I promise you’ll love it!

clip_image004

8 thoughts on “Mama Wisdom

Leave a reply

