Random Inspiration

I know I’ve only been back at work for 2 days, but I feel totally drained. 

While it usually takes me a little while to get back into the swing of things after a break, the last two days have been especially difficult.  Without getting into specifics, I’ll just say some really heavy emotional stuff has been going on at work.  It’s so unfair.  Honestly, I wish I could wrap every single one of my 75 students in a giant hug and shield them from all the bad in the world.  Seeing them sad and struggling is awful.

After such an emotionally draining couple of days, I came home this afternoon absolutely spent.  I haven’t been sleeping well, either, and a workout was about the last thing on my list of priorities.  Skirt, heels, and all, I collapsed onto the couch for a little doze as soon as I walked in the door.  I was literally too exhausted to move another step.  Although I didn’t sleep (this chick can’t nap for anything), just resting my body and my mind for 30 minutes in quiet gave me a little boost.  I seriously needed it. 

On days like this, a workout isn’t the answer for everybody.  Sometimes, your body just needs a break, and today I wouldn’t have felt the least bit guilty if I skipped out.  But for me, running is like my therapy.  It helps me to clear my head and sort out my thoughts.  It centers me.  It calms me.  Insane as it may sound, I need it.  My little doze gave me just enough of a boost to bust out the Schweaty Mess Maker elliptical/treadmill workout I did a few weeks ago.  Even though running helps every.single.time., I am always so surprised at how much better it can make me feel!

While I ran, I watched Oprah interview Phil Knight, co-founder of Nike.  Of course, he had a special pair of shoes made for Oprah that he gave her as a gift, but it wasn’t those that got my attention today.  It was the logo on the box.

2411845919_e4a627bdb1

Even if you’re not an athlete of any kind, this saying is just so true about life.  It’s a hard lesson to learn, a lesson many of my students are learning right now.  But life is just hard.  There are good times and there are bad, but there is no finish line.  You have to make the best of what you’ve got.  And if you don’t like the way something in your life is going, YOU, and only you, have the power to change it. 

Food for thought, if you will.  It’s funny to me that I’ve found random inspiration from a couple of different Oprah episodes in the last few months.  And I thought I wasn’t a fan! Winking smile


Not to be bested by the kale, I was determined to do something with it tonight!  I’m holding off on more kale chips for the moment, but instead I decided to try to recreate the Garlicky Kale on the salad bar at Whole Foods.  I had it the other night, and was surprised at how much I liked it, given that it’s raw! 

After googling around and checking out a couple of yummy looking recipes at Eating Bird Food and Culinary Collegian, I came up with my own hybrid.  It goes a little something like this:

Whole Foods Style Garlicky Kale

2 servings

2 handfuls of kale, roughly chopped (about 2 cups)

1 T. tahini

1 T. lemon juice

1/2 T. olive oil

1 T. minced garlic

S&P

sprinkle of cayenne pepper, optional

Combine tahini, lemon juice, and garlic with S&P (to taste) in food processor just until mixed.  Stream in the olive oil and puree until smooth. 

Garlicky Kale 001

Pour the whole mixture over the kale.

Garlicky Kale 002

Then, massage the kale.  Yep, that’s right. 

Garlicky Kale 003

Give it a little rub down.  Strange, but effective.  It helps take the edge off of the raw taste.  (Photo with creepy claw hand reaching into the bowl, optional).

Garlicky Kale 005

Let it sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes, sprinkle with a tiny bit of cayenne pepper, and you’re good to go!

Garlicky Kale 007

Whole Foods ain’t got nothin’ on me.

Garlicky Kale 009

Well, maybe that’s not entirely true . . . but this also didn’t cost $7.99/lb! Open-mouthed smile

That’s all for me tonight!  I’m curious, though . . .

Where have you found random inspiration???

4 thoughts on “Random Inspiration

  1. Hi Melissa,

    I just happened to be able to catch Phil Knight on Oprah today too! Two of our country’s top class acts in business today. And speaking of Nike’s tag line, “There Is No Finish Line” check out a doc I’ve been working on with Nike and director, Erich Lyttle, on one of their legendary marathoners, Joan Benoit-Samuelson. I think you’ll be inspired yet again today!:

    Please do watch for the new final trailer that will be up by May… Thanks for making your random inspiration post today!

    Good wishes,

    Sarah

  2. mmm your kale dish looks divine and I know I would like it because I chose that at the WF bar as well! 🙂

    You’re so right that we have to take control and responsibility of our own destiny. It can be hard to face at time but it is so true.

    I also totally agree with workouts being such a mood booster and stress reliever, I don’t know what I would do without them! 🙂

  3. Danielle Byard says:

    So funny how we were just talking about Oprah too! 🙂 She’s helped me in the past clear my mind on some things in life…she’s not too bad 😉

Leave a reply

