Teacher Brain

I awoke at 4 AM today with a raging sore throat.

sore-throat

For those of you who are not teachers, I’m sure you would have just called off work and gone back to sleep.

For those of you who are teachers, you know exactly what happened next.

teacher brain

And on.  And on.  And on.

I call this madness Teacher Brain.  When you’re a teacher, it’s actually easier to go into work sick than it is to take the trouble to tell someone else how to do your job.  Sad, but true.  So I slept another 90 minutes, and dragged myself through the day.

I should have stayed home.

Regardless, I made it through and was able to write plans I’m happy with for tomorrow, so if I’m not feeling better I can stay home.

When I got home, I knew my body needed rest and a workout was a pretty horrible idea, so I’ve just been laying low ever since.  Since I’m not craving much more than a smoothie with this throat action going on, I thought I’d share my Lemon Raspberry Tart recipe from Easter with you tonight!

When planning dessert for Easter this year, I wanted to make something that would be light enough that we’d have room for it after dinner, but still something deliciously sweet.  I couldn’t get the idea of fresh raspberries combined with the brightness of lemon out of my mind.  I also wanted to keep my recipe fairly small, or even individually portioned, since there were only 3 of us.  The result?  Lemon Raspberry Tarts!

Easter-043_thumb1

In my mind, these came out perfectly.  The thing I love most about this recipe was that it was totally effortless, but it has a real “wow” factor.  Only 4 ingredients are required, and if you make the filling ahead of time, all you have to do is assemble them and serve.  Honestly, it was so easy!

Lemon Raspberry Tarts

Makes 15 mini tarts

1/4 cup light whipped topping + more for topping

3 T. lemon curd

8 fresh raspberries, crushed + 15 whole fresh raspberries

1 pkg. mini fillo shells (found in the freezer section)

First, crush 8 raspberries with a fork.

048_thumb

057_thumb

Then, carefully fold the whipped topping,

050_thumb1

lemon curd,

052_thumb055_thumb

and raspberries

058_thumb

together until just incorporated.

061_thumb062_thumb

The filling can then be refrigerated in a covered container for up to 24 hours.

Next, take your pretty pink filling . . .

065_thumb

. . . and spoon it into the mini fillo shells.

053_thumb

Top each tart with more whipped topping and a fresh raspberry.  Done!

Easter-041_thumb1

For about 5 minutes of work, these look awfully fancy, don’t you think??? Smile

Easter-042_thumb1

Perfect little bites!

Easter-047_thumb2

These were great for Easter, but I also think they’d make a perfect dessert for Mother’s Day!  Light and sweet with a little crunch from the fillo, these tarts are definitely a winning combo!  Hope you give ‘em a try!

Hope you have a lovely evening, friends!  And if it’s storming where you are (like it is here—YIKES!!!), I hope you’re staying safe and sound!

‘Night!

2 thoughts on “Teacher Brain

Leave a reply

