Whatever You Like

Isn’t it the best when you can just do whatever you like with your day?  I love having no plans, no agenda, no errands.  That’s exactly how today went, and I am loving every minute!

My day started with a super chocolate-y bowl of banana oats that I whipped up on the stovetop.  They were rich and delicious and totally hit the spot! 

Choco-Oats 005

I usually make my oats in the microwave because I think their texture comes out better.  For whatever reason, I decided to do stovetop oats today and they were fab!  Here’s how:

Chocolate Banana Oats

1/4 cup old fashioned oatmeal

1/2 cup unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze (or milk of your choice)

1 banana, sliced

few dashes of cinnamon

splash of vanilla extract

1 heaping tablespoon cocoa powder

1 T. almond butter

Put milk, banana, cinnamon, and vanilla into a small saucepan and heat to boiling over high heat.  Add oatmeal and reduce heat to medium-low.  Simmer about 5 minutes or until all of the liquid is absorbed, stirring occasionally.  Add cocoa powder and stir until fully incorporated.  Top with almond butter, swirl, and eat! 

Choco-Oats 007Choco-Oats 006

Check the swirl-age.  Mmmmm.

Chocolate at breakfast is fantastic.  The end.

My oats fueled me on a great 10 mile training run this afternoon.  The weather was PERFECT for running today!  Very low humidity and temps in the upper 60s/low 70s made for ideal conditions (for me! Smile).

When I have a longer run to do, I map out my route and then drop a Gatorade off along the path so that I can rehydrate during the run.  Today’s loop made kind of a P shape, so my refreshment was ready at about miles 3 and 6. 

2011-04-30_1828

I also eat gummy bears before I run for quick sugar.  I suppose Gu or Gel Blocks would be the “runner-y” thing to eat, but gummy bears are basically the same thing and they cost $1 for a giant bag.  Plus, I get to eat them when I’m done, too, which is never a bad thing! Winking smile

2011-04-30_13-04-39_157

Today’s run was especially good.  I felt great the whole time—easy breathing, no pain, etc.—and finished my 10 miles in just under 1:40.  Having a drink out along the path always helps, and the random playlist I ran to didn’t hurt either. 

Highlights included:

Janet Jackson’s If

Buckcherry’s Crazy Bitch {so inappropriate, but I love it}

Black Eyed Peas Don’t Phunk With My Heart

C+C Music Factory’s Things That Make You Go Hmmmmm

Taylor Swift’s Picture to Burn

Totally random and wonderfully motivating. 

My only complaint is that a tag on my tank top (that normally never bugs me) was chafing my side the whole time and now I have a boo boo!  It’s not the end of the world, but annoying!

I caught up on facebook chat with an old friend this afternoon, and now I’m pondering dinner.  I know after a long run I should be crazy hungry, but my hunger seems to hit the next day rather than right away.  Does this happen to anyone else?  I’m sure I’m just a total weirdo.  Standard.

In other news, I also curled my hair today using only a round brush and my hairdryer!  It came out cute, but sadly, I have no plans for the evening.  Instead, I have to be self indulgent and post a pic here.  My apologies.  This wouldn’t happen if I had a life. Winking smile

2011-04-30_18-07-46_7322011-04-30_18-10-29_46

In retrospect, I now see that you can’t really see the curls that well in these pics.  Sorry.  I got sick of taking self portraits!

Time to find some grub!  See ya!

7 thoughts on “Whatever You Like

  1. the oats look delish, i am going to have to try them. bananas sometimes hurt my tummy tho… 😮
    i LOVE LOVE LOVE not having an agenda, a game plan, anything. i love living by the seat of my pants…….sometimes!
    and lastly, your hair looks cute curled! enjoy your weekend!

    • I notice ppleoe seem to think it costs too much to eat organically. I was one of these ppleoe until my boyfriend convinced me it was a more of a lifestyle. I believe if given the chance, once ppleoe realize they really feel better by eating well, they will change as I have. I find now that food I once enjoyed is not nearly appealing as it once was. So long, Chik-fil-a!

  2. I can see the curls, you look beautiful!

    Your run sounds lovely, I am so glad that you are feeling better and could get out 🙂 I used to be so lazy about making sure I had hydration with me on long runs but now I tend to take my camelback with me when its hot. I think your gummy bear idea is genius and so much cheaper than shot blocks!

    Running seems to delay my hunger as well! Must be in the endorphins. Strength training revs up my appetite.

    I hope you have a lovely Sunday! 🙂

Leave a reply

