Adventures in Pizza Stones

Ooh, I made a yum-tastic dinner tonight, friends!  Starring none other than my Pampered Chef pizza stone!  Open-mouthed smile

Easy Brie-zy 007

I was going for a twist on classic spinach artichoke dip.  Think gooey cheesy spin dip in pizza form.  Good idea?  Yes.  Very good idea.

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 029

You want in?

{Hint: you do.}

Here we go!

Spinach and Artichoke Pizza

Serves 1

1/4 portion Trader Joe’s pizza dough (or any other prepared pizza dough)

1 1/2 T. prepared basil pesto

small handful spinach

1 artichoke heart, sliced

1 piece turkey bacon, diced

1/4 cup shredded Italian cheese (I used Italian cheese blend + fresh grated parmesan)

cornmeal, for sprinkling

Start by preheating the oven and the pizza stone at 350*.

Then, take the dough out to come to room temperature—this is a Trader Joe’s pizza dough instruction, so I followed!

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 009Spinach Artichoke Pizza 007

Divide the dough into 4 equal sections, then put the rest in the fridge and leave the single portion out to rest for 20 minutes.

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 008

While the dough is resting, prep the rest of the ingredients.

Please excuse the gratuitous pictures of my artichokes.  They had me smitten this evening.  Spinach Artichoke Pizza 011

Hey, pretty little hearts.  We’ve been apart for far too long.  Welcome back!Spinach Artichoke Pizza 012

So anyway . . . . slice up the artichokes, cook and dice the bacon, and shred the cheese if it’s not already shredded.

After the dough has rested, flour your board and shape the dough into a little individual pizza round.  You could use a rolling pin, or just press the dough with your hands, gently pulling and stretching until you get a thin, crust-like shape.

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 016

Top the dough with the pesto.

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 014Spinach Artichoke Pizza 017

Add spinach leaves in a single layer.

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 019

Then, the sliced artichokes.

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 020

And bacon. Open-mouthed smile

(Bacon rates a big smiley face.  In case you didn’t know!)

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 023

Then cheese!!!

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 024

Carefully remove the pizza stone from the oven.  Spray it with cooking spray and sprinkle it with cornmeal.  This will help to keep the pizza from sticking to the stone.  Plus, the cornmeal makes a nice, crunchy crust. 

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 026Spinach Artichoke Pizza 027

Bake me!

Bake your pizza for 20 minutes, until the cheese is bubbly and brown and the crust is cooked through. 

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 028

Git in mah belly!!!

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 031

Salty bacon, gooey cheese, tangy artichokes . . .

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 030

Yumtastic?

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 032

Indeed!

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 033

All my favorite spinach dip flavors plus bacon. Open-mouthed smile <—See??? 

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 035

I am one happy camper over here! 

I love how the pizza stone got the crust nice and crunchy, too!  That cornmeal was a most excellent decision!  I might even pre-bake my crust a little next time to get a higher crunch-factor.  Oh yes, I’m just getting started in my pizza stone adventures!

Spinach Artichoke Pizza 036

I also topped my slices with Garlic Gold Sea Salt nuggets.  Basically, crunchy, salty garlic.  More garlic is never a bad idea!

Now, please excuse me while I give myself a nice pat on the back for this one! Smile

Time to watch a few DVR’ed shows and get myself ready for the week ahead.  Hope you’re enjoying the last little bit of the weekend!

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Pizza Stones

Leave a reply

