A Little Intimidated

Monday.  Done.

That’s all I have to say about that!  Open-mouthed smile

After work, I fueled up with several handfuls a few gummy bears and set out for a 6 mile training run for my half marathon.  With the race just under 5 weeks away, I thought I’d better consult my training plan and get cracking!

A week or so ago, Tina featured the SmartCoach Training Program from Runner’s World Magazine on her site.  It looks like such a great tool, so I decided to create one for myself.

smart_coach

This will be my third half, and honestly I really have no idea what I’m doing when it comes to training.  I just kinda, ya know, run . . . and hope it works out for the best.  I do one longer run each weekend leading up to the race, starting with an 8 mile run and adding a mile each week until I get up to 12 the weekend before the race.  Since I’ve finished both of my previous races without a wheelchair or any other medical assistance, I figure this training plan (and I use the term ‘plan’ in the loosest possible sense) works.

On the other hand, I think it might be fun just to see if it does anything for me to actually follow a plan.  With the details above input into the SmartCoach Program, it spit out this:

half_training_plan_001

Sweet Jesus.  I’m terrified!  13 miles every Saturday for the next 3 weekends, plus a 14 miler—further than I’ve ever run!—on Memorial Day Weekend.  Just for fun.

{Also, please note that I am aware I did the wrong # of miles today.  Blame in on Monday brain.  Just could not compute for some reason . . . Embarrassed smile}

It’s safe to say I am the teeniest bit intimidated by this plan.

However.

However.

I think I can do it.  Yep, it’s a lot of miles.  Yep, it’s going to be tough.

Yep, I’m gonna try.  It’s the lengthy weekend runs that I find most daunting, but it can’t hurt to try it out, right?  I don’t really know how to pace myself at 10:23 or 10:20 or 10:17—random, much?—so that part should be interesting.  Just the same, I think I’ll give it a shot.  Why not?

Disclaimer: Please be prepared for me to freak out sometime in the next 5 weeks.  It’s pretty much a given.

I was a little hesitant to share this with the blog world because it totally bums me out when plans fail, but maybe this plan will turn out differently???  To quote my dad, stranger things have happened!!!

Moving on.

I am hereby declaring May Salad Month in the HHH Household!  Come one!  Come all!  The warm weather that’s going on around me has me dreaming of giant, fruit and veggie loaded salads, so I’m putting my dreams where my mouth is.  Or something.  Give me a break . . . Monday brain.

Tonight, I went in the fruit direction because I wanted to try out the Spicy Pineapple Rum Sauce that came with my pizza set.

I marinated a chicken breast in the sauce, grilled it up, and put it atop a big bed of romaine with fresh fruit galore.  Filling and super satisfying!!!

Spicy Pineapple Chicken Salad

For the salad:

1 chicken breast, marinated (In Spicy Pineapple Rum Sauce if you have it. If not, try pineapple juice, olive oil, S&P, and red pepper flakes as a marinade) and grilled

Romaine lettuce

Strawberries, sliced

Pineapple, sliced

Mango, sliced

Blueberries

1 T. sunflower seeds

For the dressing:

1/2 T. Spicy Pineapple Rum Sauce

1 T. olive oil

1 T. balsamic vinegar

I hesitate to even call this a recipe because all you have to do is slice up the fruit and assemble the salad!  For the dressing, just whisk everything together and toss with the lettuce.  You could make it even easier and use a bottled dressing—a raspberry vinaigrette would be really good, too!

So assemble it, pour yourself a glass of vino, and dine!

Spicy Chicken & Fruit Salad 001

Who wouldn’t want to eat that????  I love the pairing of fruit with grilled chicken, and this one was definitely a winner!

Spicy Chicken & Fruit Salad 002

The spicy pineapple rum sauce had just a hint of heat and it paired perfectly with the sweet, juicy fruit!

Spicy Chicken & Fruit Salad 004

Anybody care to play where’s Waldo with the missing ingredient???

Spicy Chicken & Fruit Salad 008

Tee hee!  Nope!  That’s not it!

Blaming the Monday brain again . . .

2011-05-02_20-05-50_6

Duh.  Fortunately, my taste buds reminded me!

Give me salty with my sweet, woman!!!

In case you aren’t sold on the Monday brain I am experiencing today, it was a fortunate accident that I realized I put the exact same picture into this post twice.  In a row.  Yeah.

Time to enjoy my wine and relax!

Tell me the truth:

Does this training plan look too insane to you?

If you have any advice for me, please, for the love of God, share!  I need all the help I can get! Winking smile

Have a wonderful evening, friends!

10 thoughts on “A Little Intimidated

  1. No! You got this. Easy peasy no prob. 14 miles ain’t no thang…just make sure to run extra slow. The long runs aren’t where you work on speed (do that on a mid-length run like today), they’re just to get your body and muscles ready for the distance. Slow. Sllllloooow. And you’ll see you’ll prob be able to run even farther 🙂

  2. ohh I’m excited for the HHH salad month!
    I love that you added fruit to your salad and two of my favorites no less 🙂

    Was your longest run recently your 10 miler last week? It might be a bit of a jump to go from 10 to 13 (speaking as someone who did it yesterday and is still recovering! 😛 ) I think you should do what you feel comfortable with. If you think it’s a bit too much do 11, 12, 13, 14. No reason to tax your body only a few weeks before the race.

    I love monday brain! Except I seem to have it many days of the week! 😛
    I hope you have a great Tuesday and I look forward to seeing how your training goes. I am sure you are going to do awesome in your half! 🙂

    • I’m thinking about easing into the longer runs a little more. I might try the 13 miler this weekend and then stop early if I feel like I need to.

      Thanks for your support–it means the world!

  3. Good luck on your race training:) I hope it goes well, and i’m excited to read a little about it in the coming weeks. Love the salad too- it looks delicious!

  4. I would consider tapering and cutting back your runs 2 weeks before the race and not running more than 12 miles for a training run! Good luck!!

Leave a reply

