Big News!

Big news!  Big news!

Guess what guess what guess what????

I took a nap today!!!  Wahoooooooo!!!

taking_nap

This is a HUGE deal for me because I have an incredibly hard time napping.  Usually when I try to nap, I just end up laying there for a bit and never actually fall asleep.  I was dragging all day today and knew I at least needed to lie down when I got home from work.  About 45 minutes, I awoke refreshed—and a little confused.  It seems that whenever I actually do nap, I have the most bizarre dreams ever.  This one involved dropping my camera in a river that was running through a hotel????  I have no idea.  But I took a nap!!!! Open-mouthed smile

Now I can only hope that it doesn’t backfire on me and keep me up tonight.  That would be seriously unfair, so I hope it doesn’t happen. 

Rejuvenated by my nap, I set out to complete 4 uber-sweaty miles near my apartment.  It was in the upper 80s and windy, but not too humid.  I slogged through it, but I looked as though I had been swimming rather than running when I got home!  Even though it’s gross, I totally love it when I get that sweaty.  It’s somehow more gratifying, ya know? 

I also did the Yoga for Runners class that I mentioned this morning when I got home.  I’ve gotta admit, it was a little boring, but I needed to stretch, especially with all the miles I’ll be running for my half marathon training.  I’m hoping adding yoga more regularly will keep my muscles limber and prevent an injury.

Also, I really want to thank all of you for your support and advice about my Half Marathon Training Plan.  I will probably make a few adjustments to it, but we’ll see.  I’ll keep you posted! Smile


I don’t know what my deal is, but hot weather really kills my appetite.  I just don’t get as hungry as I do when it’s colder outside.  Because of this, I waited a little later to make dinner tonight.  I really just wanted a smoothie, but I figured I needed a little more than just that.  Fortunately, I was inspired by Lisa’s amazing breakfast today and decided that breakfast for dinner would totally hit the spot! 

I also have a crush on my pizza stone, so I needed to use it again.  You understand. 

But how to marry pizza and breakfast???  Breakfast pizza?  Maybe.  Breakfast calzone???  I think yes. 

Breakfast Calzone

1/4 portion Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Pizza dough (or any other prepared dough)

handful baby spinach

8 grape tomatoes, sliced in half

1 slice turkey bacon, cooked and chopped

1/4 cup shredded cheese (I used an Italian blend, but cheddar or jack would be great!)

1 egg

S&P

Roll out your dough into a thin rectangle.

Breakfast Calzone 001Breakfast Calzone 002

Bake it at 400* on a hot pizza stone for about 3 minutes.  Don’t freak out if it looks like this when you take it out of the oven!

Breakfast Calzone 003

It will deflate. Smile

Then, top the par-baked crust with the handful of spinach . . .

Breakfast Calzone 004

Sliced tomatoes . . .

Breakfast Calzone 005

Bacon! Open-mouthed smile

Breakfast Calzone 006

Shredded cheese . . .

Breakfast Calzone 007

Finally, crack an egg over the top of the whole thing. 

Breakfast Calzone 008

Don’t slide away little egg! 

Breakfast Calzone 009

Ahhh . . . better.  Season with S&P—don’t forget!  It adds flava! 

Fold over the top.  You don’t have to crimp the edges or anything.  It’ll stay in there. Winking smile

Breakfast Calzone 011

Bake for 10 minutes for a soft egg, 12-13 minutes for a medium egg, or 15 minutes for a hard egg. 

Hehe hard egg.  Why is that funny?

Sorry people, they say you are what you teach, and I teach 13 year olds, sooooo . . .

Hey, look!  It’s ready!

Breakfast Calzone 012

Chewy and slightly crispy crust . . .

Breakfast Calzone 012

Freshness from the spinach and tomatoes . . .

Breakfast Calzone 013

Great goo-factor from the cheese . . .

Breakfast Calzone 017

And just the right salty, smoky bite with the bacon. 

Breakfast Calzone 014

With the perfect runny egg dripping throughout the whole thing?   Breakfast bliss, I tell ya!

Will I be making this again?  Possibly tomorrow.  Fan-freaking-tastic!

Breakfast for dinner is so nostalgic for me, but this feels like the grown up, foodie version—especially since I had it with a glass of vino! Open-mouthed smile

I loved every bite and truthfully, I was a little sad when it was gone! 

Bethenny’s on deck on my DVR—looking forward to a few giggles this evening.

Questions of the night:

Are you a good napper?

Do you like breakfast for dinner?  What’s your favorite breakfast dish?

5 thoughts on “Big News!

  1. Katie says:

    I was just randomly on twitter and saw your post! Didn’t realize what a kick-butt blog you had going on here! So cute! I’m exhausted after just reading the 1st page! haha…You go girl!! XO

  2. oh my heavens, that calzone looks amazing! I make calzones all the time but I’ve never added bacon and a runny egg! aaahahah I must try this soon! 🙂

    I definitely also lose my appetite the more running I do and the hotter it gets.

    So glad you got a good afternoon nap in, there’s nothing else quite like it 🙂

Leave a reply

