Belle Vie

Last night, Danielle and I hit up DSW for some quick wedding shoe shopping–who knew it was going to be so easy???

{Please pardon my cell phone pics in this post!  I forgot my camera at home!  The horror!}

2011-05-04_17-43-08_918

Option #1

2011-05-04_17-46-57_892

Option #2

She found both of these great options for 40% off–2 pairs for about $50!  Now she just has to choose which pair will go best with her dress.  I have to vote for Option #1, though!  I love the flowers! 😀

Since our shopping trip was so quick, we had plenty of time for dinner and drinks!  We decided to try out a new to us place right across the street–Belle Vie European Bistro.  When we saw on the chalkboard outside that it was happy hour, we knew we’d made the right choice!

2011-05-04_18-40-06_653

The bartender, Tara, was so sweet and nice!  All of the wines by the glass were half price for happy hour, and she let us try a few before we settled on our choices, an Italian Pinot Grigio for Danielle and a French Cab/Merlot blend for me.  At around $4 a glass, they were a steal!

Tara explained to us that Belle Vie’s owners came straight from Belgium to open their European style restaurant about 2 years ago.  Featuring fresh and local produce, the dishes have a definite French and Belgian influence.

After sipping on our wines and chatting away, we decided to split several appetizers for dinner so we could sample as many dishes as possible!

Les Calamars Belle Vie–Fried Calamari with Homemade Tartar Sauce

2011-05-04_18-43-50_353

Paired with the slightly spicy homemade tartar sauce, the calamari was perfectly cooked so that it was tender and not rubbery.  It was fantastic!  On the side, it came with a salad of fresh greens and tomatoes, topped with a creamy dressing that had a bit of a bite to it!  Horseradish, maybe?  Whatever it was, it was excellent with the greens!

La Petite Salade au Chèvre Chaud

2011-05-04_18-43-58_703

This salad of fresh greens with warm goat cheese and a light vinaigrette was good, but it didn’t wow me or anything.  Probably because it was sitting next to these . . .

Les Coquilles de Saint Jacques au Beurre Blanc

2011-05-04_18-44-06_585

Those would be scallops in a light butter sauce with shallots and white wine.  And garlic.  A whole lotta garlic.  Sweet and tender scallops have a special place in my heart.  And when you marry them with butter, wine, and garlic?  Forget it.  I’m done.  I could have eaten a million of these.  We made sure not to let one drop of that sauce go to waste, either, sopping it up with slices of baguette.  Lick the plate good, I tell ya!

Pommes Frites

2011-05-04_18-45-14_960

In a game time decision, I decided we needed fries with the rest of our apps.  Fries are never a bad idea, right?  The sauce made these, though!  I think it was the same as the dressing on the salad with the calamari.  It had a great spicy bite to it!

Here’s to friends!  

2011-05-04_19-52-01_470

I also needed this for dessert.

2011-05-04_19-52-23_365

Yep, needed.  Sometimes it’s hard for me to decide whether I like drinking more or dessert! 

Danielle can pass on dessert–blasphemy I tell ya!  But I always like a little something sweet. 

Then again, I can always just choose both, right?

What’s your stance? 

Drinking or dessert?

9 thoughts on “Belle Vie

  1. Renee Byard says:

    WOW…..as long as she can walk in those floral puppies….not even a question! How fun they are~ That food looks AWESOME! I want to go THERE on my next visit. 🙂

  2. That is a very important debate! 😉 If I had to choose then I would take dessert over drinks. What I most like to do is have a bit of everything 🙂

    I LOVE the look of those scallops and I am huge garlic lover so lots a garlic sounds good to me! 🙂

Leave a reply

