Right on Schedule

When I was a kid, I always had a hard time getting out of bed in the morning.  My dad was very patient with me.  He would put my clothes on top of the heat register in the winter so leaving the coziness of my bed wouldn’t be quite so rough.  And he sang this song:

Good morning to you!

Good morning to you!

We’re all in our places

With smiles on our faces!

And this is the way

We start a new day!

Whenever I’m dragging in the morning, I sing this song to myself.  It’s not quite the same as Dad singing it for me, but it does make me smile! 🙂

What was I getting at?  Oh, right–Good Morning to you!

Yesterday, I received the Bootylicious award from Lisa, which I will be sure to address later today!  Thanks, Lis! 😀 

She also had a great post about her favorite quotes–she has a notebook full of them–that got me thinking about my own favorite sayings.  I love looking at quotes for inspiration, and when I find one I like, I’ll often put it in a prominent place so I can see it often.  Case in point:

I can’t remember where I first saw this quote, but it really resonates with me.  I made this up in Microsoft Publisher, printed it on glossy paper, and framed it.  It hangs in my kitchen where I can see it everyday. 

Occasionally, I feel as though I am behind the curve, as it were.  Nearly all of my friends are married and own homes; many of them have children.  It’s easy to feel as though I am somehow not keeping pace with where I should be in life.  Having it there is a good reminder not to compare myself with others.  My life has taken its own course, and whatever is meant for me will be. 

Are you a “quotes” person?  How do you keep your favorites in mind?

14 thoughts on “Right on Schedule

  1. ohhh my gosh! i love quotes! i am slightly addicted….i am trying to think of some of my favs….. i love the saying, “dont look back, as the best is yet to come”…..
    i am at a weird point in my life. i did everything opposite of how you are supposed to…..got married young, had my children, too young, went to college…and now sadly, divorced. (well i say sadly, but it is a good thing….) however, now i am in a transition. i am going thru a break up. not fun….and most of my friends are married as well and having little ones…..i still feel really young, but it’s just difficult…i guess there is a plan for all of us….i am just still trying to find my way!!!

    p.s. i loved the story of your dad singing to you! soooo adorable! xo

    • Sorry you’re going through a rough time. My mom always says, “You have to go through the bad stuff to get to the good stuff. ” Sometimes I’d just like to fast forward to the good stuff, though, you know? I think it’s all about appreciating and recognizing the good things you have in your life today rather than waiting for them to show up.

      HUGS to you! XO

  2. Goodness I relate to that feeling of needing to catch up, needing to run to get ahead, so to speak. But that quote you love really just spoke to me. I love how words can do that. I’ve always stumbled upon quotes that really touch me and I’ll write them down and carry them with me wherever I go. glad you do the same 🙂

  3. I love quotes. I know they’re just words, but they really inspire me. I’ve just started this week putting a quote a day on my blog. I love it even if no one else does.

    I love this quote, too!

  4. I’m always writing quotes in my notepad – either inspirational or hilarious. Your quote really resonates with me too, it reminds me of one of my favorites: “No one ever won a chess match by making forward moves only. Just like in life, you have to move backward to take a better step forward.”
    I also tend to get caught up in the “on-track”ness of my life and honestly, sometimes I need the reminder that everything happens in its right time.

  5. Renee Byard says:

    First of all…..WHAT a DAD!!!! You are blessed with two of the most AMAZING parents EVER….just from what I have read. No wonder you’re homesick~ See that’s why I was always mean to Danielle….so she wouldn’t be home sick! 😉

    Anyway……I know there’s a special plan for you…just you wait and see! One day you’ll look back and smile and or laugh, at the times you stressed. Heck, you will most likely even miss those alone times, just a little. So….find a hubby who travels, just a bit, so you can enjoy some alone time. *smiles & hugs*

    xo

      • I would like to show some appreciation to this wrteir just for bailing me out of this issue. Right after surfing around throughout the world wide web and coming across techniques which are not helpful, I was thinking my entire life was over. Being alive without the strategies to the problems you’ve resolved as a result of this short post is a critical case, and the ones that could have adversely affected my entire career if I had not noticed your web blog. The ability and kindness in dealing with every aspect was precious. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I had not discovered such a solution like this. I can at this time look forward to my future. Thank you very much for your impressive and effective guide. I will not think twice to endorse your blog to anyone who desires direction on this subject.

Leave a reply

