Y’all???

Thursday already?  Whew!  Where did this week go?  I’m not asking any more questions—just glad the weekend is in sight!

I did a nice little hodge podge of cross training this afternoon as part of my half marathon training.  Today’s workout included 35 minutes on the elliptical, the yoga portion of Body by Bethenny, and Rock Hard Abs from Exercise TV on Demand.  Kinda random, but it worked!

I haven’t said much about my training lately, mostly because I’m just following the plan I got from Smart Coach.  I’ve added a few strength training workouts here and there, mostly focusing on abs and arms.  I figure my arms and core get less of a workout from running, so I want to strengthen them with some extra training.  I’m also doing a fair bit of yoga, mostly to make myself stretch, but I know I also get strength training from that.

Anywho, that’s my plan and I’m sticking to it! Open-mouthed smile

I went with a cross training day today because I need to tackle my long run tomorrow afternoon after work.  We’re supposed to get some strong storms this weekend, so I’d rather move my run up a day rather than get stuck in the rain, or worse—on the treadmill—for 13 miles.  Plus, I really want to do a 10K on Sunday, but running 13 miles on Saturday might make that a bad idea.  Wish me luck!


I know y’all were wondering how long I’d hold off on making another panini, am I right?

{Oh my God.  I just said “y’all.”  The South is slowly seeping into me!}

Don’t worry, my infatuation with delicious crunchy bread cannot be contained!

For tonight’s panini, I got a little creative.

Remember this?

White Bean & Tuna Salad 012

And this?

Raspberry Habanero 005

And this?

Raspberry Habanero 003

Oh, wait.  That has nothing to do with tonight’s dinner.  I just felt the need to throw that in there. Winking smile

The grainy goodness of the Multigrain Ciabatta Roll met the sweet spiciness of the Raspberry Habanero Sauce for a taste sensation!

{I feel that there should be some sort of superhero music playing in the background now.  How about Captain Planet?}

OK, now that we’ve set the tone . . .

Raspberry Habanero Chicken Panini

Serves one

1 multigrain ciabatta roll, insides removed

2 chicken tenders, grilled

2 T. Pampered Chef Raspberry Habanero Sauce (or homemade version, see below)

1 slice gouda cheese

a few leaves of baby spinach, optional

Start by scooping out the insides of your ciabatta.  This helps make a little nest for your panini fillings and allows the bread to get nice and crunchy when it grills.

Raspberry Habanero 006

Then, slice up your gouda and place it on one side of the roll.  Top it with the spinach, if you so desire.  Honestly, I was feeling a little guilty about the lack of veggies in this meal, so I threw it on there.  But I ate a salad the size of a small child for lunch today, so I guess maybe I didn’t need to worry that much.  Whatevs.

Raspberry Habanero 007Raspberry Habanero 009

Shred up the grilled chicken tenders and mix them with the sauce and a little S&P.  If you don’t have this particular sauce, you could whip up a homemade version really easily.  Just take 1.5 T. of raspberry jam or preserves, add in 1/2 T. cider vinegar, and a dash of red pepper flakes.  I’m 99% certain this would replicate the flavor.  It’s sweet with just a little kick of spicy!  So YUM!

Put the chicken mixture on the other side of your roll.

Raspberry Habanero 010

Now, take a deep breath and . . . FLIP!

Raspberry Habanero 011

Whew!  Most stressful part of my day!  Luckily, nothing escaped. Smile

Pop ‘er onto a hot Griddler for about 5 minutes, and it’s panini time!

Raspberry Habanero 013

Oh, crunchy bread, how I’ve missed you . . .

Raspberry Habanero 012

What a great combo!  Sweet and spicy, with smooth, gooey goodness from the gouda.  It made my mouth very happy indeed! Open-mouthed smile

Raspberry Habanero 014Raspberry Habanero 017

I added some sliced strawberries on the side for a little freshness.

Raspberry Habanero 015

They were perfectly sweet and juicy!

Raspberry Habanero 016

I’m so glad it’s strawberry season!

Time for me to wind down a bit.  I can’t believe it’s already 8 PM!

Questions of the night:

Do you like the combo of spicy and sweet? 

What’s your favorite in-season fruit?

(Obviously), I am a sweet and spicy fan!  I also love sweet and salty.  Pretty much sweet and anything!

I go crazy for strawberries and pineapple in the summer.  In the fall, you can’t beat a honeycrisp apple!

8 thoughts on “Y’all???

  1. mmm mmm mmmm! it has been too long since I have had a panini, they really are so delicious! 🙂 I have never seen your rasp/jalepeno sauce before I love the sweet and spicy combo. Spicy with sweet is the only way I can take spiciness because I am a spice wimp.

    I love hodgepodge workouts 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful long run tomorrow, you’re so right that long runs on the treadmill are no fun!

Leave a reply

