It’s All Greek to Me

I would like to tell you about my relatively painless day at work.

I would like to tell you about the fantastic five mile run I did in between thunderstorms.

I would like to tell you about the beautiful muffins I made this afternoon.

But I can’t.  My mind is otherwise occupied.  By this

Greek Salad 005

My photography doesn’t do it justice, but this, my friends, is the BEST Greek salad on the planet.  THE.BEST!!! 

I started making this salad several years ago when I first saw it on 30 Minute Meals.  Now, I know people have pretty strong feelings about Rachael Ray one way or another, but homegirl knew what she was doing when she came up with this baby.  Mad props, Rach.  Mad props.

rachel-ray-kitchen

The flavors are perfectly layered and balanced.  Each bite is a new taste sensation.  Oh yes, my friends.  This is a party in my mouth! 

Being that I’m a Party of One these days, I scaled it back, made a few of my own adjustments, and came up with a pretty frickin’ amazing Greek Salad that I could seriously eat every.single.day. 

It’s All Greek to Me Salad

Based on this recipe.

Serves one

  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon grill seasoning
  • 1 chicken breast, or 3 chicken tenders
  • 2-3 cups romaine lettuce
  • 1/2 cup grape tomatoes
  • 1/4 seedless cucumber
  • 1 green onion, thinly sliced (or any onion you like—red is really good, too!)
  • 1 rib celery, thinly sliced, leafy green top reserved
  • 2 T. pitted kalamata olives
  • 2 T. pepperoncini hot pepper slices, chopped
  • 1/4 lemon, juiced
  • extra virgin olive oil 
  • S&P
Celery Leaf Pesto Topping
  • reserved celery leaves (about 1/4 cup) 
  • 2 T. crumbled feta
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • a few grinds of coarse black pepper
  • 1 T. chopped walnuts
  • 1.5 T extra-virgin olive oil

Directions

Preheat your grill, Griddler, or grill pan to high heat.

Combine plain yogurt with cumin, oregano and grill seasoning.

Greek Salad 001

Incidentally, I am totally enamored of plain Greek yogurt at the moment.  In case you cared.  No?  That’s ok.  I’ll get on with it.

Coat chicken in mixture and place onto a hot grill sprayed with non-stick spray—give it a liberal coat or these guys will want to stick!

While that’s cooking, chop up all the veggies and put them with the lettuce into a big bowl.  And now I give a shout out to my other love

BEETS!!!  (Danielle, please look away).

Greek Salad 003

If it was acceptable to marry a vegetable, I would be instantly wifed by beets.  Deliciously sweet and earthy, I would be very happy to wake up to beets every morning for the rest of my life.  I’m afraid my life may be coming to this.  You might need to worry . . .

Moving on.  Dress the salad very lightly with the lemon juice and a drizzle of extra-virgin olive oil.  Add in some S&P for good measure.  Just sprinkle it on.  You can add more if you need it.  Toss it all together to get a nice little coating.

Place all ingredients for pesto topping in the food processor or blender, except for the olive oil. Turn processor on and stream in extra-virgin olive oil.  Rachael’s original recipe calls for parsley instead of celery tops, but I can’t taste the difference and it’s one less ingredient to buy.  WINNING!

Take the meat off the grill, slice and lay it over the top of the salad.  Top the chicken with the pesto and dig in!

Greek Salad 006

I am freezing up.  I am paralyzed.  Or I just have awful writer’s block.  But seriously . . .

Greek Salad 007

This

Greek Salad 004

is

Greek Salad 008

INCREDIBLE!!!

Make it, will you please?  For me?  And have a nice glass of vino on the side, mmmmkay???Greek Salad 009

You can even try to be artsy and take a photo of the bottle through the glass.

Greek Salad 011

Cuz that’s how I do.

Alright, let’s have it . . .

What are your feelings on Rachael Ray? Winking smile

I’m a fan!  Sure, she can bug me a little, but how can you be mad at someone who is always cheerful?  If anything, I wish I were more like her!

7 thoughts on “It’s All Greek to Me

  1. I love Rachel Ray. She has a new show on that makes meals for the whole week and it’s so helpful!! I’m definitely going to try this recipe 🙂

  2. You seriously crack me up!

    I like Rachel Ray.
    I LOVE Greek Yogurt. Plain all.the.way.
    You had me until beets. I just can’t get into them. Maybe I’ll give them another turn since you just RAVE about them.

    I’ll try it. For sure.

  3. I love Rachael Ray! Sure, she can be a little too peppy sometimes, but I’d rather listen to someone like her than a debbie downer. Plus, her recipes are bomb. So win-win in my book 🙂

Leave a reply

