Muffin Lovin’

Good morning to you!

We are having some serious weather up in here!  How about you???  It has been hot, humid, and stormy on and off for the last few days, and I kind of feel like I’m living in the jungle!  OK, probably not that hot, but it made me wonder why on Earth our forefathers thought Virginia was a good place to settle?

I’m sure you’ll be shocked to learn that upon waking this morning, I just didn’t feel like getting out of bed!  I lay there, trying to think something to motivate me to get up, and then it came to me! 

ONLY ONE MONTH LEFT OF SCHOOL!!!

Yahoo!!!  That means that in one month and one day, I will be driving back to Michigan!  I popped right up and got into my daily routine.  Nothing like looking forward to something to get you out of bed in the morning! 😀

Usually, I don’t post all of my meals, but I wanted to share breakfast with you this morning because it was so darn tasty!  It’s a gourmet McMuffin of sorts!

I just took a couple of egg whites and beat them with about a half a tablespoon of pesto and some S&P in a little container sprayed with non-stick spray.  Microwaved for 90 seconds and you’ve got a nice little egg patty.  Then, I toasted up a Pepperidge Farm Sandwich Thin and added tomato for a satisfying little breakfast sammy! 

While I do sometimes just grab a granola bar for breakfast, I really enjoy having something homemade a lot more.  It took me about a minute total to put the eggs together and stick the tomato and sandwich thin in a bag, and this morning I just put everything together in the kitchen at work.  Easy peasy and much more satisfying than a little granola bar!

Hope your Tuesday is off ot a great start!

What do you usually eat for breakfast?

12 thoughts on “Muffin Lovin’

  1. Oh, I make those breakfast sammies a lot. LOVE them! Usually for breakfast I have oatmeal, an oatmeal smoothie, or a protein smoothie. Not really original but it’s what I’m craving in the morning.

    I did go though a 6 month “I need morningstar sausage” period. Waiting for that one to return. 🙂

    • Have you tried the dough boy smoothie yet (where you soak the oats in milk overnight and then blend)? They are SO good!

      I need to check out that Morningstar sausage. I always see it, but have yet to pull the trigger.

      • I’m not a fan of overnight oats, but I didn’t think to put them in a smoothie. Looks like that’s next on my list. Probably healthier than the “smore from the gods.” If you get the sausage, get the patty and not the link. The links suck.

  2. If I eat breakfast, it’s usually a protein bar or oatmeal. Your egg sandwich looks delicious though! I also love the little comments you added to the picture at the beginning of the post. I like to think that’s what they would’ve said anyways…

  3. Microwaved eggs are my savior, though I have to try adding pesto! Recently I’ve been on a weird hardboiled egg + chocolate protein smoothie breakfast bender.

  4. ohh that breakfast looks lovely, especially the addition of the pesto mm mm! that beats a granola bar breakfast anyday 🙂

    I have a hard time going without a filling breakfast even when I wake up really early. Lately I’ve been eating a big bowl or oats or oat bran or french toast with fruit and PB 🙂

    I’m so excited for you that you’re almost done with the year and can visit your family soon! 🙂

  5. Jen says:

    I have a silly question — when you make this egg patty with egg whites, what do you do with the yolks? I always see “healthy” recipes that suggest using just egg whites, but I can’t stand the thought of throwing the yolks away…Thanks!

    • That isn’t a silly question at all! Yeah . . . I do just throw them away. :/

      I guess you could make Hollandaise sauce with them? Or buy the liquid egg whites in the dairy section at the grocery store instead. That would eliminate the problem! 😀

Leave a reply

