Mediterranean Tuna Burgers

I don’t even know where to begin.

I have this creeping sense of insecurity. 

You see, I happen to think I’m a pretty good cook.  It’s not that I’m being cocky, I just really enjoy the food I make.  Which I guess is kind of the point, right? 

But then I wonder . . . is it really that good?  There’s no one else here to say.  Just little old me, dining alone.

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers 019

At the table, like a grown up, but alone. 

I’m going to go ahead and tell you that I was very happy eating this meal.  Very happy.  And in the end, if I only have to make myself happy, that’s what counts, right?

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers 004

But someday, I’d kinda like it if I ate at the table like a grown up with someone else.  I’d kinda like it if they would love the dinner I creatively and lovingly prepared.  I’d kinda like it if they would “mmmm” along with me. 

So tonight, I cooked for two.  I only ate for one, but this recipe is for two.  If you have a sweetie, would you do me a favor and make it for them?  And then, if you’d be so kind, would you report back?  Because I really need to know . . . I’m sorry.  I’m so needy. Embarrassed smile

Alright, now that I’ve made myself all vulnerable, let me tell you about this fantastic concoction that I so creatively and lovingly prepared this evening. 

I typically have most of the ingredients for this meal on hand, but since I also had a seedless cucumber and celery (please, for the love of God, tell me who can use up a whole celery heart before it goes limp???), I decided to make up some Mediterranean Tuna Burgers.  They meet all the criteria: fast, easy, delicious. 

So help a needy single chick out and make them, will ya? 

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers

Serves 2!

For the burgers

1 can tuna, drained

2 T. minced onion

½ T. minced garlic

2 T. plain Greek yogurt

½ T. lemon juice

2 T. breadcrumbs

1 T. crumbled feta

1 egg white, lightly beaten

½ tsp. dried oregano

1 T. finely chopped kalamata olives (I used 6)

½-1 T. finely chopped pepperoncini peppers (depending on the level of heat you like!)

1 T. finely chopped celery

S&P, to taste

2 pita breads, halved

2 slices of tomato, halved

For the sauce

2 T. plain Greek yogurt

1 T. finely minced cucumber

1 T. feta

S&P, to taste

So I said easy, right?  All you’re doing here is chopping and mixing.  Does it get any easier than that???

Put everything for the burgers into a bowl, from tuna to celery.  Mix and season with S&P to taste (about 1/8 tsp. salt and a few grinds of pepper worked for me).  Divide the tuna mixture in two and form into patties.  Bake at 400* in a well greased pan for 20 minutes.  While the burgers bake, mix everything for the sauce in a small bowl and set aside.  Slice the tomato and warm the pita breads.

Ta da! 

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers 002

All the flavors of a delicious Greek salad in burger form!

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers 001

Check out all the little bits of goodness!

Portion the sauce equally into the pita halves, add in a half a slice of tomato, and top with half a burger.  Repeat for remaining pita halves.

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers 003

Dude.

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers 007

Is it inappropriate for me to say that my own cooking is FREAKING DELICIOUS!?!?!  Because these seriously were.

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers 008

This was one of those meals where you have to remind yourself to slow down and enjoy it, rather than inhale it because it tastes so good!

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers 015

I had wine and beets with mine. Smile

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers 012

Because when it’s just you, you can have whatever you like!

I know some of you have strong feelings about beets, so feel free to sub in whatever side dish you feel is appropriate.  I’ll never know. Winking smile

Alright, you’ve received your assignment.  Here’s one more visual, in case you forgot:

Mediterranean Tuna Burgers 010

Cook.  Taste.  Report.

Pretty please??? 

Do you like your own cooking?  Do you need someone else to convince you that it’s actually good??? Winking smile

10 thoughts on “Mediterranean Tuna Burgers

  1. That looks really good! You need to come cook for me because I suck at it. Also, I will eat every beet at the table.
    When I make stuff it’s good, but that’s not too often because I’m not comfortable in the kitchen. Boo.

  2. Melissa, I wish you lived near by so you could come eat with us! 🙂

    I totally understand the feeling. When I’m alone for meals I usually watch 30 Rock because I prefer to have talking, chatter, etc when I’m eating. Keep in mind I’ve already watched the entire season once! 😛

    I love the look of these tuna burgers. If I can convince Nick (AKA Mr. Newly Veg over here) to do me the favor of eating some fish then we will make this for dinner next week. If not, I shall be making two servings for myself! 🙂

    I do like hearing that my cooking is good. Part of it is that I make some funky dishes that I know only taste good to me and I don’t care! when I do cook for others I want to make sure it isn’t yet another one of my weird combos! 😛

    I hope you have a wonderful rest of your evening and a great Thursday! 🙂

  3. Yes you are completely obliged to say freakin delicious, because these seem to meet that criteria 🙂
    I love tuna, and am always looking for new ways to cook with it, besides the old tuna salad, and this will be one to try!
    I understand the feeling of eating alone and wanting someone elses approval once in awhile! When I “cook” for myself it usually involves a microwave or toaster, and I like to eat in front of the TV…. perhaps sitting at the table would be a nice change haha

  4. I made these last night and they were very soupy and I ended up having to broiled them to try to cook them through and get rid of some of the moisture. So I was wondering what sized can of tuna you used (I used a 5-oz can)? Still, they had a really good flavor and were tasty crumbled over salad. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a reply

