Will Strength Train for Muffins

Yesterday was a strength training day for me.  As we know, I am not a fan.  But I’ve found something to motivate me through this endeavor.  Muffins.  That’s right friends.

0110

But how can I take this seriously?

024

What is this man doing????

I actually know the answer to this.  This was the stretching portion at the end of the workout.  Still.  Check out the faux glow on my trainer:

022

Yowsa!

But now I feel bad.  He’s probably a really sweet guy.  And he was a good trainer!  Encouraging!  Positive!  And I did actually like this workout, so I won’t make fun of him anymore.

Except to say that I’m fairly certain this man shaves his legs.

I’m going to let you think about that for a moment.

OK, I’m really done now.

The muffins come in somewhere here, I promise.  I’ll just go ahead and get to the point now.

While my muffins are baking, it gives me a perfect little 20 minute window to strength train.  Realistically, I’m not going to commit much more than 20 minutes to this, so the muffin window, if you will, works perfectly.

Mix ingredients.  Lift weights.  Eat muffins.

Blueberry Coconut Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

For the muffins

1 cup old fashioned oats

1 cup coconut milk

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 egg whites

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup shredded coconut, divided

1 cup flour (I used a combo of whole wheat and white)

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup blueberries

For the topping

2 T. old fashioned oats

2 T. shredded coconut

1/2 T. Smart Balance Light or butter, softened

1 T. brown sugar

Add the oats and coconut milk to your blender and allow to sit for 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 400* and spray a muffin tin with cooking spray or line with muffin cups.

Mix all the ingredients for the topping together in a small bowl until a crumbly mixture has formed.  Set aside.

Add the applesauce, egg whites, brown sugar, and half of the shredded coconut to the blender and blend away until everything is smooth—about 30 seconds.

While that’s happening, measure your dry ingredients into a bowl and whisk them together to combine.  Pour the blended mixture onto the dry ingredients and whisk gently, just until blended.

Add in the rest of the coconut and the blueberries and fold just until combined.

Hey there, blueberries.  Nice to see you again!

002

Portion into muffin tin using a 1/4 cup measure and sprinkle with the topping mixture.

Couldn’t you just eat them now???

006

I have a thing for cookie dough, cake batter, basically anything that can be licked out of a bowl.

Don’t worry, I baked them.  For 20 minutes, to be exact.

Unfortunately, I was a little slow and it took me a few minutes after the muffins were already in the oven to get geared up for my strength training.

This is the bonus of strength training via DVR in your living room.  Just press pause! Smile

And feast your eyes on these little lovelies!

012

You know I couldn’t just let them sit there all warm and coconut-y with blueberry goodness oozing out.

015

I’m sure faux-glow trainer would understand.

I mean!  Have you seen this toasted coconut???

018

Here, just in case you can’t see

019

Yeah, you have to dig into that right away.

020

You could put some butter on it, too.  Or you could just go ahead and crush it as is.

021

And then finish your strength training.  Hey, you need your fuel!

008

Either way, you should make these muffins.  Strength training optional. Winking smile

19 thoughts on “Will Strength Train for Muffins

  1. I have the same deal with my laundry – while in the basement, I must strength train between Washer -> Dryer loads. This has become very very unfortunate for my laundry. I may have to switch to your muffin deal. Those look unreal.

  2. Oh wow. These look absolutely amazing and delicious! I’m a huge fan of blueberry flavored things, and I love coconut, so these will be perfect for the summer!

  3. I think the will strength train for muffins idea is fabulous! 🙂 When we were addicted to watching “24” via netflix instant stream a few months ago I would make a deal with myself that I had to strength train for at least one of the episode of the 2 we would watch. I was much stronger then when we watched more TV! hehe

    I love the look of those muffins! so berrily delicious! 🙂

Leave a reply

