Out of Whack

I’ve gotta tell you, my appetite has been totally out of whack today!

It started with me being ravenous from the time I got up at 6 AM.  Usually, I’m not hungry for anything until around 9, so that was definitely a new one for me!  As soon as I got to work, I dove into my breakfast muffin.  An hour later, I needed a granola bar—thank goodness I knew about a secret stash in the kitchen!  I downed it.  Half an hour after that?  The overnight oats I brought for lunch were toast! 

Breakfast in 3 parts:

017Quaker_Peanut_Butter_Chocolate_Chip_Granola_BarIMG_0708{source}

Considering I usually eat pretty light during the day, this was a massive breakfast for me!  Guess my training is catching up with me! Smile

Speaking of which, I haven’t blogged about the whole training situation in a bit, so I’ll give you a little update!

Even though I was nervous about the rigor of my training schedule at first, it’s actually going really well!  I’ve felt great on most of my runs, and even completed 2 13-milers with no pain and in great (for me!) time!  Lately, I’ve been really loving my runs and actually pushing myself to run a little faster.  I’m not usually running at race pace, but I’m not just putz-ing along, either.  I’ve even added in a little strength training, which is still far from my favorite thing, but I’m doing it!  This weekend, I have a 14 miler scheduled—the furthest I’ve ever run!  I know it’s completely nuts, but I’m actually looking forward to it!  I’ll let you know how it goes! Open-mouthed smile

Tonight’s dinner was basically leftovers from last night, but with sweet corn on the cob!

Blueberry Crisp 003

Usually, corn isn’t quite as good so early in the season, but this was delicious!  I could have made an entire meal out of several ears of corn!  But the leftovers were just as good today. 

Not surprisingly, I was still hungry after dinner, so I decided to throw together a baby blueberry crisp for one!

Blueberry Crisp 005

Cute, right?  And in a single serving size, so you don’t go nuts with an entire pan! Winking smile  <—This is key for me!

Baby Blueberry Crisp

Serves one

1/2 cup blueberries

1/2 tsp. cornstarch

1/2 tsp. sugar

1/2 T. Smart Balance Light, softened

1 T. brown sugar

2 T. old fashioned oats

2 T. flour

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1-2 T. plain Greek yogurt sweetened with a little honey, vanilla extract, and cinnamon

Preheat the oven at 375*.  Toss the blueberries with the cornstarch and sugar to coat and place in a small ramekin.  Mix the remaining ingredients in a small bowl, cutting in butter with a fork.  Press topping onto blueberries and bake for 25-30 minutes.  Top with yogurt and dig in!

Blueberry Crisp 007

Bubbly blueberries and sweet brown sugar oat topping?  Yes, please!

Usually, I love to have any kind of fruit crisp with vanilla ice cream, but since I have zero self-control around ice cream, I try not to buy it.  I can put away an entire container in 2, maybe 3 days, tops.  It’s ugly.

Luckily, my new obsession with plain Greek yogurt allowed me to have a cool, creamy topper! 

Blueberry Crisp 009

Since I was a little girl, I have always loved cinnamon ice cream, so I added a little cinnamon, along with honey and vanilla extract to make a cinnamon yogurt topping. 

Blueberry Crisp 010

Ho-ly delicious! 

I went heavy on the brown sugar oatmeal topping, and it was fan-flippin-tastic! 

And now, I think I may actually be full! 

Victory!

Have a great night, friends!

What do you do when you find your appetite out of whack?  Go with it or try to reign it in (<—if so, please explain how! I need help! Smile)

10 thoughts on “Out of Whack

  1. oh my heavens that cobbler looks AMAZING! 🙂 I love that you made recipe for one because I hate making lots of servings of dessert because I end up eating it and nothing else for the next day when it’s fresh like that! mmm mmm!

    I totally understand the ravenous appetite. I get more ravenous when I’m strength training frequently than when I’m running. Also right before my period comes! I just go with most of the time and things balance out 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful Friday! 🙂

  2. It depends on if I feel I should be hungry or not. If I had a hard workout and know my body needs fuel then I go with it but if I didn’t do anything to make my hunger increase I try to control it and drink plenty of water.

  3. Nice job and congratulations with your training so far! It sounds like you have your schedule all worked out and are doing great 🙂
    I also applaud you for listening to your body when it was asking for a more food today! I have “hungry” days too, and I used to deny the feeling and try to eat normally. But I am finally learning to feed my body, even if it’s a bit extra, when it asks for it. Your right, your training is catching up with you and you are benefiting yourself so much by fueling more. Nice job lady!
    Also, that blueberry crisp looks delishhh! I shall certainly be trying this soon

Leave a reply

