Wining, Dining, & Running!

Well, I did it! 

This morning, I ran 14 miles—farther than I’ve ever run before!

2011-05-21_1223

Even though I was a little nervous beforehand, I just went for it and ended up finishing in an average pace of 9:43!  Fast for me! Open-mouthed smile

2011-05-21_1224

Apparently I was really feelin’ it around mile 9!  I think it’s because I took a Gu during miles 7-8, and then ditched my tank top in favor of my sports bra for the last 5 miles of my run.  I can just breathe SO MUCH better when I don’t wear a shirt.  I didn’t feel too self-conscious, since most of my run was on trails and through a wooded (read: low traffic!) neighborhood.  Embarrassed smile

Things I learned on this run:

1. Don’t be afraid to push your pace!  I’m always afraid to push myself too much because I worry that my knees will hurt or my legs will be heavy or I won’t be able to breathe.  Today, I felt good so I went with it, and it was great! 

2. I still hate Gu.  I had the Jet Blackberry flavor today.  It wasn’t the worst, but the texture just totally grosses me out.  Even so, I think it gave me a little boost during my run, so I’ll probably try it again next time I do a crazy long run.

3. It’s OK to run in your sports bra.  I can’t believe how much better I could breathe without a tank top on over top.  I would much rather be able to breathe and forgo a little modesty! 

4. Wine is delicious.  Oh, wait.  I didn’t learn that during my run.  But it is true!

Last night, my friend Danielle was out of town, so I met up with her fiance, Bryce, so he wouldn’t get too lonely without her.  We went to The Wine Loft for a couple of flatbread pizzas and some tasty Malbec!

p_0002

I had never been there before, but it was a really fun place—excellent people watching!  There was a couple out on the patio in a full on makeout session for at least an hour.  It was highly entertaining. 

Then, I remembered that the people that read my blog are probably more interested in the food than the people watching, and snapped a couple pics of our half-eaten flatbreads!

Wild Mushroom & Caramelized Onion
Wild Mushrooms, Caramelized Onions, Mozzarella, & Fresh Herbs

Wine Loft 002

You know how I feel about caramelized onions.  Paired with wild mushrooms?  Pretty much perfection.

Black & Blue Cheese

Filet Mignon, Blue Cheese, Roasted Red Peppers, & Mozzarella

Wine Loft 003

This was also insanely good!  I worried a little that the filet mignon might be overcooked, but it was just right!  With the red peppers and blue cheese, I was pleasantly surprised at how perfect this was on a pizza!

And a very poor photo of my nearly empty wine glass.

Wine Loft 004

{Bad blogger!  Sorry Sad smile}

We also shared a chocolate souffle for dessert. 

Moist Chocolate Cake with a heart of creamy rich chocolate

Wine Loft 007

Please pardon my lack of self control!  I lose my mind when there’s chocolate involved!

Self portrait fun?

Wine Loft 006

Or fail? 

Either way, it was great getting to know Bryce better!  I’m so excited for his and Danielle’s wedding!  I’m lucky to have found such great friends here! Smile

This afternoon, I’m off to watch some horse races!  Apparently, the Preakness is happening today???

preakness136

I don’t know much about horse racing, but I liked Seabiscuit, so this is kind of like that, right? 

Please forgive me today, I’m a little exhausted from that run! 

Enjoy your day! Smile

8 thoughts on “Wining, Dining, & Running!

  1. Sometimes I giggle when we are doing similar things! I didn’t go for a run, but I went to a wine bar in downtown Seattle last night! Looks like your night was as fun and yummy as mine was 🙂 I had a flight of french white wines 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your run! That’s wonderful and such an amazing and special accomplishment! 🙂

    I don’t blame you for feeling hot on such a long run, goodness me. Have you ever tried the Clif Shots instead of Gu? I really like them especially raspberry and Mocha. It’s so great that you were able to get to hang out with your buddy’s fiance, both pizzas and the chocolate dessert are making me drool!
    I hope you have a wonderful time watching the race, and thanks so much for such a sweet and supportive comment re my post earlier 🙂

  3. Great job on your run! Finishing a long run is the best feeling.

    I think it’s awesome you ran in just a sports bra. It’s something I definitely need to try.

Leave a reply

