Shaken Up

This morning, on my way to work someone ran a red light.

2011-05-24_07-20-40_902

It wasn’t me.

003

Luckily, I wasn’t in the intersection a second sooner, or I probably wouldn’t be blogging this morning. 

2011-05-24_07-20-51_590

I’m still pretty shaken up.  I didn’t even see the guy coming, and when he hit me, I had to sit there for a second, checking to be sure that the light was actually green for me (it was), and that I hadn’t screwed up in some way.

The worst part about the whole thing is how utterly alone I felt.  I didn’t know who to call or what to do.  I handled it—because I had to.  I talked to the police and the tow truck guy.  I called my insurance company.  I walked back to my apartment (I was only about a mile from home).  But it would have been nice to have someone there with me.  It would have been nice to have someone give me a hug and tell me everything was going to be ok.

What I’m not happy about is that I called him.  I did call Danielle first, but she couldn’t come right away, and I was so freaked out that I just wanted someone there.  And of course, he didn’t answer.  I left a message that I was in a car accident and didn’t know who else to call.  And he didn’t even call back.  I know it’s just another indication of what a jerk he is—I mean, what kind of person gets a message like that and doesn’t respond?—but it still hurt.  And I didn’t need that on top of the accident. 

No fair. 

So I guess today I’ll be figuring out a rental car, talking to the insurance company some more, and trying to shake this stirred-up feeling. 

Sorry if this seems all over the place.  Guess I’m still feeling a little out of sorts. 

Hope your day is going better than mine . . .

20 thoughts on “Shaken Up

  1. Kira says:

    Oh no! So glad you’re okay! So sorry about the jerk! Seriouly…what kind of person doesn’t call back after that message?! Ugh!

  2. I’m so glad to hear you are okay!!
    I’ve totally been there in the same place you’re at. Accidents are scary and can really shake you up! I am sorry he didn’t call you back – just goes to show his true colors and what a jerkface he is.
    I know you felt alone, but really, I think you should feel proud! You handled that situation like a pro – taking care of everything by yourself, that is awesome.
    Hope it all works out. Maybe you’ll get a SWEET rental car 🙂

  3. awwwww you poor girl!!! if i was there, i would give you a big hug! and yes, what a JERK. (i could think of a few other names for HIM right now, but because i am nice, we shall refrain!)
    i have often thought about this: who would i call in the event of a situation like this…..and i have to admit, it makes me super sad.
    good luck with everything. try to enjoy the rest of your day and i agree with the above comment: you look super cute~ love that outfit!

  4. I’m so glad you’re okay!! Sorry to hear about the accident 😦 Completely understandable that you feel shaken up. I hope everything works out with your car.

  5. M,

    I am so sorry to hear about the accident I am sending a HUGE HUG your way.
    I totally understand how you felt and absolutely understand that you just wanted someone there to comfort you, even if it wasn’t the best person. I just read your post about your relationship and therapy, I think I started reading your blog just a couple days after that so I hadn’t seen it before. You are doing an amazing job at moving forward. Relationships truly can be so uplifting and then a split second later break you heart. I know that when Nick and I really disagree and are upset with one another, I really can’t focus. I insist on fixing the situation because it effects my entire self.

    Well I’m sending you another big hug and as you said, the fact that he didn’t call back is yet another indication that he wasn’t the right guy for you. There is a perfect gentleman out there for you just waiting until that special day comes when you two meet 🙂

    HUG! 🙂

  6. I wish I would have been there to give you a big snuggle, honey! It’ll all be okay, and it will all turn out, I promise. I know you don’t believe me somedays, and I get that, but honestly, your luck will turn around and you’ll meet a great guy and your car will be all shiny again. 🙂 Hang in there!

  7. Katie (mylegs) says:

    Don’t take this the wrong way (awful way to start a sentence, sorry!), but I’m glad he didn’t answer or return your phone call. You are better off without him around, and it gave you a chance to do it on your own. And, if you’re like me, you hate that but it’s a good thing to learn how independent from someone like that you can be – you don’t need him. I know it sucks not having anyone, but if it’s any consolation – you can always message me! I may be in Michigan, but sometimes just having someone to vent to helps.

    Sorry your day started off badly. Glad you’re okay and hopefully the car gets fixed soon!

  8. that is so scary. I am so glad you are okay. I hope you can relax tonight with good company. Everything will work out okay with the car, just take a night to not think about it.

Leave a reply

