Phew!

Phew!  What a day!  I feel like I have been going 1,000 miles a minute since I woke up this morning!  Oh wait, that’s because I have!!!

Today has been a whirlwind of phone calls, appointments, and catching up with everything that got put aside while I was dealing with the accident stuff yesterday. 

There’s so much I want to say about everything I’ve dealt with in the last 2 days that I think I’m going to devote a post just to that . . . my mind is still processing now, so stay tuned! 

For now, I will say that I got in a fantastic training run this afternoon that really helped me burn through some of my stress!  I did a tempo run on the treadmill, starting with 1 mile at 10 minute pace, then upping my speed for the next five miles to 8:49 pace, before cooling down with another mile between 9 and 11 minute pace.  Those five miles in the middle were tough, but I kept telling myself I could get through them, that I am strong, that if I handled a whole car accident and all the aftermath by myself, I could certainly run 5 speedy miles.  And I did!  I love how running empowers me.  It truly gives me a sense of strength and control that nothing else does.  I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not, but for now, I’m going to just let myself enjoy it!

I also treated myself to some new running duds.  I don’t really have the extra cash right now, but if I there was ever a time to treat myself, I’d say it’s now!  

014

An Under Armor Heatware Tank, Compression Shorts, and headbands

016015

I’m really excited to try these out!  I’m hoping they will work for my half marathon which is coming up next weekend (EEEK!).  I’ve been wanting to try compression shorts for a while, so I will definitely let you know how they are!

017

The headbands, on the other hand, are a FAIL.  I already tried one on and wore it around while I dusted and vacuumed my apartment.  It wasn’t tight or grippy like I hoped!  If it was wiggling around while I was just doing housework, it certainly isn’t going to stay put when I’m running.  I think I’m going to try to return them tomorrow.


Tonight for dinner, I made up some simple oven fried eggplant, prepared the same way I made the Zucchini Parmesan Crisps last week. 

008

I topped them with a little fresh tomato sauce, olive oil, and some shredded parm.

007

For something I threw together on the fly, this was pretty darn tasty!

Check it

012

YUM!  I added in a spring mix salad dressed simply with lemon juice, olive oil, and S&P, plus a glass of vino on the side.  Can’t forget National Wine Day, ya know! ‘Winking smile

011

I didn’t really use a recipe, but if you’re interested, I’m sure I could work one up for you! 

Time to relax and enjoy that vino properly! 

Who else is celebrating National Wine Day???

2 thoughts on “Phew!

  1. How did I miss National Wine Day?! Well, it’s not to late to celebrate, especially because I’m hangin’ out in the hotel lobby right now situated across from the bar, hah!

    I’m sorry you’ve had such a stressful few days, girl…I need to get caught up. But I love your new running duds and the dinner with eggplant looks delicious! 🙂

  2. I have those SAME headbands and hate them. But Sweaty Bands don’t stay in my hair either. I just have a head that likes to shoot headbands off the back of it I think.

Leave a reply

