Strawberry Banana Flax Muffins

Well.  I have to admit, I think I’m getting pretty good at this muffin thing.  It’s amazing how many combinations pop into my head once I start thinking about them.  I’m thinking that with a little extra free time this summer, I can bake a gazillion muffins and get super buff.  Sound good?  Winking smile

So how about a delicious and healthy summer muffin recipe for you this Friday morning, hmmm?

This may be my favorite muffin recipe to date!

Strawberry Banana Flax Muffins 003

I bought some ground flax last week and really wanted to try it in some muffins.  Apparently, ground flax can impart a buttery flavor into baked goods—who knew?  Well, not me, anyway!  A couple of overripe bananas on my counter along with gorgeous strawberries on sale at the store made for the perfect muffin storm!

Strawberry Banana Flax Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 egg whites, lightly beaten

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 small ripe bananas, mashed (about 3/4 cup)

1 tsp. vanilla

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup ground flax

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup strawberries, diced into bite-sized pieces

ground cinnamon, for sprinkling

Preheat the oven to 350* and spray a muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray.  Whisk together brown sugar, egg whites, applesauce, bananas, and vanilla.  In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients.  Add them to the wet and mix gently just until combined, being careful not to overmix!  Fold in the strawberries.

Using a 1/4 cup measure, scoop batter into prepared pan.  Sprinkle each muffin with cinnamon and bake for 18-20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

Strawberry Banana Flax Muffins 001

They’re even cute in the pan!

And look at the berry goodness!

Strawberry Banana Flax Muffins 004

I have no idea why, but I don’t think I’ve ever baked with strawberries before!  Madness, I tell ya!  In these muffins, the strawberries get sweeter when they bake, but not mushy.  They added a great natural sweetness and texture to the muffins.

Strawberry Banana Flax Muffins 008

And thanks to the ground flax, these didn’t taste too “healthy.”  The buttery flavor really is there!  Of course, a little pat of butter on a warm muffin is one of life’s great pleasures, so it would be 100% OK to do that. Smile

Either way, you really need to try these.  I’m enjoying one with a little greek yogurt for breakfast this morning and the combo is TO DIE FOR!!!  (Haha, totally just typed “to die forT”)

Strawberry Banana Flax Muffins 002

So since I’m kinda getting into this whole muffin thing, what muffin recipe would you like to see?  If you have a request you’d like me to try, I’m up for it!

Happy Friday! Open-mouthed smile

10 thoughts on “Strawberry Banana Flax Muffins

  1. mmm I love how the strawberries are simply bursting out of the muffins! 🙂 soo yummy! I definitely agree that a little pat of butter never hurt anyone 🙂

    I would love to see either blueberry muffin or some sort of healthy struessel topped muffin 🙂

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend Melissa! 🙂 The summer is right around the corner! 🙂

  2. If you say this is your best muffin to date, then I must go and make these… like now!
    Melissa you are so right, the butter definitely is necessary sometimes, and I am finally getting that 🙂
    I agree with Jenny, blueberry would be great, or maybe some kind of cinnamon chip or healthy coffee cake type of muffin?
    Have a lovely weekend lady

Leave a reply

