Memorial Day Musings

Happy Memorial Day! 

Hope you’re having a fun holiday weekend!  I feel so blessed to live in a country where everyday men and women are willing to put their lives on the line to allow us to go about ours without incident.  Thank you thank you thank you, from the bottom of my heart, to those of you serving in the armed forces, and to those family members who stay behind and support them.  You are all truly amazing people!

I also really want to thank those of you who commented yesterday for your sweet words and encouragement.  It wasn’t a fun day, but I fought through it the best I could.  This morning, I thought I’d share my coping strategies from yesterday since quite a few people said they were in the same place! 

9-10:30 AM Drink coffee and pout on the couch while watching Confessions of a Shopaholic. 

10:30  Decide I should probably eat something.  Make holiday-themed Red, White, & Blue Oats!  Excited by the idea, but my appetite was too off to enjoy them.

001

10:30-1 Watch Mamma Mia and dream of living in Greece.  If this movie can’t cheer you up, I don’t know what can!

mamma_mia_10

While watching the movie, I also painted my finger and toe nails and worked on some party favors for Danielle’s Bachelorette Party. 

012016

I also realized that my hands and feet are wildly unattractive in photos, even when polished.  C’est la vie!

1 PM Decide it’s time to stop sulking so much and put on Bethenny’s Yoga DVD.  Discover I can actually do a chaturanga pushup!  Winning! 

2 PM Sunscreen up and head to the pool to soak up some Vitamin D!  It was HOT HOT HOT, but I love that kind of weather, so I enjoyed it while reading a magazine and listening to my iPod. 

pool

OK, so this is a recycled photo from last summer . . . not really into taking self portraits at the public pool.  But I did wear this same bathing suit, so it’s legit . . . sorta. Smile

5 PM Return from pool to (finally) shower and make some dinner.  I was a bad blogger and didn’t photo it, but I made a quesadilla version of the BBQ Chicken Panini with a TON of caramelized onions.  It hit the spot.  I enjoyed it while watching Failure to Launch on TBS, which I had never seen.  I thought it was sort of cute.

BBQ Chicken Panini 014

Also a recycled photo.  Just picture this as a quesadilla.  Yum.

7 PM Chocolate needed.  Individual Healthified Coconut Lava Cake to the rescue!

Coconut Lava Cake 003

8 PM  Tweeted this:

2011-05-30_1058

8:05 PM Caught up with favorite blogs and coveted this Rose Gold watch.  If anyone wants to buy me a present, I wouldn’t hate this! Open-mouthed smile

rose_gold_watch

9 PM Run to store to get makings for Funfetti Cookies!

015

Not because I was hungry, but because I got invited to a cookout today and needed something to bring!  YAY!  A friend from work texted me to ask if I’d like to join in on a family cookout this afternoon, so of course I accepted!  Open-mouthed smile

10:30 Call it a day.  It wasn’t fun, but I got through it.  Hope that if there’s anyone else feeling particularly bummed this weekend that you’ve found something to at least make you smile for a little bit!


This morning, I woke up ready to cash in on that run I wanted last night.  Compression shorts—take 2! 

006

Please ignore my un-makeup-ed face and “no I did not blow dry yesterday” hair this morning!  I also rocked my new kicks on today’s run!

 011

They are totally retro and silly looking.  I love them!  Open-mouthed smile

As for the run?  Well, it was more like swimming with the crazy high humidity and heat index!  When I got home, I checked my weather bug and saw that it was already 85*!  No wonder I was da-ripping when I got home! 

I liked the compression shorts just as well for comfort today and didn’t have any intestinal antics going on like I did on Saturday, so I’d say they’re keepers!  I do have to get used to how close-fitting they are, though.  I don’t usually wear anything spandex or super tight, and the waistband on these is most definitely fitted!  I turn it down so that it’s not cutting into me so much and that seems to work pretty well. 


Last year on Memorial Day, I remember exactly what I did.  Isn’t that strange?  I did a 6 mile run in the morning, and then went out to my friend, Steph’s, lake house with my sister.  We hung out on the boat all day and grilled out for dinner.  It was such a fun day!  I’m hoping we’ll have a chance to do it again this summer!

2010 0972010 100

Time to whip up a Green Monster for re-fueling and run a few errands before the cookout this afternoon!  At least I have somewhere to go today, which puts a smile on my face! Open-mouthed smile

What are your Memorial Day plans? 

If you’re by yourself or feeling lonely, I am sending an extra huge HUG to you today!!!  Red heart

11 thoughts on “Memorial Day Musings

  1. LOL to the red, white, and blue oats. I’m not sure those kinda oats can ever look good in a picture. 🙂
    In laws are coming over soon. I was invited to a BBQ tonight but I’m not feeling it. What I AM feeling is sitting my ass on the couch and watching a girlie movie. We’ll see if my mood changes. 🙂

  2. Melissa,

    You did such an awesome job of getting out and about and staying busy. We go out for a bit of ‘dream shopping’ but otherwise I was much lazier than I would have liked. You have inspired me! 🙂

    I am out for a run and hopefully a much more productive and fun day than yesterday!

    HUG! 🙂

  3. So much to say…
    – Great job staying busy and turning the day around.
    – Yay, for the cookout! I hope you have fun.
    – I love Bethenny’s yoga DVD
    – You are in great shape!! I want to buy those compression shorts and look as good as you. 😉
    – Love that watch!
    I’m so glad you’re treating yourself nicely and trying to stay positive. I know how hard it is to cheer myself up when I’m feeling down. The next time I’m in a funk I’m going to read this post for inspiration. =)

    • Sara, you are the SWEETEST!!! Seriously, I want to put you in my pocket and carry you around for when I need a little boost! Thank you so much for your kind words and your support the last couple of days. I appreciate it more than you know! 😀

  4. Hi Melissa!
    You should be proud that you did such a wonderful job pulling yourself out of that funk. When I am feeling lonely and down like you were, I stay busy like you did, it certainly helps with distraction and it’s great doing things you want to 🙂
    I can never run when it’s hot like that, I am quite impressed!
    Have a fab time at the Memorial Day party today

Leave a reply

