Hella-Hot!

Phew!  I don’t know what the weather’s doing where you are, but it is hella-hot out there!  250105_10150184913829397_695914396_6813428_4357939_n

OK, so once I started driving it cooled down a little . . . to 99.  Sheesh!  But secretly, I kind of love it when it’s this hot.  I will take a scorcher over freezing cold any day of the week!  It’s the humidity that ruins it for me.  Regardless of the humidity level, though, temps that high mean one thing: treadmill time! 

I hit the ‘mill in my apartment complex fitness room for an easy 4 miles while watching some Ellen, then followed it up with a few weights a la Jackie Warner. 

image

Still can’t stand strength training.  Maybe someday I’ll get into it.  Today is not that day. 

The good news, however, is that I wore the compression shorts for a third time today and had another smooth run.  They definitely take some getting used to, but I felt good in them the whole time, so I’m thinking Saturday’s experience was more IBS related and not the fault of the shorts.  Good deal!  I hate when I buy something and then it just ends up sitting in my drawer. Sad smile


By the time I was done working out and cleaning up my apartment, I was feeling a veggie-packed stir fry for dinner.  After a quick trip to the store to grab some veggies, I headed into the kitchen to put together just that!

Spicy Pineapple Shrimp Stir Fry

Serves 1 or 2 (with rice)

1 serving raw shrimp (about 10 31-40 shrimp)

2 cups pre-cut stir fry veggies from the produce section or frozen stir fry veggies

1/4 red bell pepper, thinly sliced

1/4 cup chopped pineapple

1/4 cup sliced water chestnuts

1 clove garlic, minced & divided

1/2 T. + 1 tsp. sesame oil, divided

For the sauce/marinade:

1 tsp. sesame oil (from list above)

2 T. low sodium soy sauce

1 T. rice wine vinegar

1 T. Pampered Chef Spicy Pineapple Rum Sauce (or 1 T. honey + a pinch of red pepper flakes)

1/2 clove of garlic (from list above)

1/2 tsp. cornstarch

Start by making sure the shrimp are peeled and deveined.  This is a gross job, so if you can stick it on someone else, do!  If you’re on your own, suck it up and get it done. 

Then, put all of the ingredients for the marinade except the cornstarch into a resealable plastic container.  Add the shrimp and toss to coat.  Refrigerate at least 30 minutes and up to 2 hours.

Heat 1/2 T. sesame oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add stir fry veggies, red pepper, and water chestnuts, and fry, stirring frequently, for about 5 minutes.  If the pan is too dry, add more oil or a good hefty spray of non-stick spray.  I try to go light on the oil because I hate greasy stir fry. 

Reduce heat to medium and add in the pineapple, remaining garlic, and shrimp, reserving marinade.  Saute another 3-4 minutes or until shrimp is cooked through.  Meanwhile, add the cornstarch to the reserved marinade.  Put the top back on the resealable container and shake it gently to incorporate the cornstarch.  Pour it over the stir fry and cook another minute or two, just until the sauce thickens. 

Serve over rice or by itself.

Spicy Pineapple Shrimp Stir Fry 001

As you can see, I opted for rice.  At first. 

Spicy Pineapple Shrimp Stir Fry 002

Then I realized, I don’t really like rice.  I know it’s what you’re supposed to eat with stir fry, but it just doesn’t do anything for me.

Spicy Pineapple Shrimp Stir Fry 006

And it’s freaking hard to eat rice with chopsticks!  I mean, I can (my daddy taught me Smile), but it’s a pain in the you-know-what. 

So I ditched the rice . . .

Spicy Pineapple Shrimp Stir Fry 003

And focused on the good stuff!

Spicy Pineapple Shrimp Stir Fry 004

Which, incidentally, totally rocked my socks!  Sweet and spicy and just plain good!  Also, I have decided that pineapple is a requirement for me in stir fry.

Spicy Pineapple Shrimp Stir Fry 005

Pineapple does good things with soy sauce and shrimp.  YUM.


This evening, I need to devote all of my attention to my DVR’ed episode of The Bachelorette.  I had it on last night while I was putzing around, but I need to do a thorough viewing tonight.  However, just from the bits and pieces I saw, I can already say I am not a Bentley fan.  But, speaking of hella-hot . . . J.P.?  Swoon!  Hope he lost . . . J.P., I’m available! Winking smile

1305316961_bachelorette-bentley-lgjp-bachelorette

Oh, and the guy with the mask?  She’s being way too nice.  It’s weird.  Stop.  No matter what the meaning behind it is, it’s still WEIRD!!!

I never watched any of The Bachelor/Bachelorette shows until last season with Ali.  Honestly, I found it super depressing.  I mean, these are supposed to be the cream of the crop, and this is what she gets????  Sheesh.  I hope there is some bachelor out there for me who isn’t a total douche bag.  Just saying.

Are you a Bachelor/Bachelorette fan?  What do you think of this group of guys?

9 thoughts on “Hella-Hot!

  1. J.P. is hott! Bentley was driving me crazy last night…I HATE guys like him. I enjoy watching the show but it is kind of depressing. I swear they must search high and low for the sweet talkin players.

  2. I’m so sad we don’t have cable! booo I mean I’m glad to save money but I do miss my reality tv. I secretly think Nick wanted to get rid of cable so he didn’t have to watch the bachelor! 😛

    I thought it was hot here good lord! I love the steamy days too though 🙂

    So glad you had a good run and no tummy troubles! 🙂

  3. Recipe= so many ingredients I love in one! Pineapple and shrimp are a great combination, their flavors mesh so well together. And I feel ya on the rice, it really doesn’t do much and is very difficult to eat, even with a fork! (or maybe that’s just me… 😉 )
    I love both the Bachelor and Bachelorette! I usually say I am going to try and not get sucked into it each season, but I do, and I love it! J.P. is a good looking man and one of the Ryans

Leave a reply

