On Hope

Last night, I couldn’t sleep.  Shocking, I know.  But as I lay awake, I got to thinking about hope.

Hope is a funny thing.  It’s believing that something good will come despite all odds, all evidence and life experience that screams at you to be cynical.  Because bad things do happen.  They happen all the time, sometimes every day for long stretches at a time.  We seem to have no power or control over those bad things, and it’s easy to feel defeated. 

But then hope sneaks in.  It’s that little whisper in the back of your mind that silences those negative thoughts and makes you believe that maybe, just maybe, there is something better out there.  A path to happiness, a certain peace, an ease about your days. 

Somehow those little whispers of hope keep you going simply because you have to believe there’s something more. 

I probably shouldn’t hope.  Instead, I should just accept what I have and learn to live with it–make peace with my existence, if you will.  But the thing is, I’m not okay with that.  I want more.  And I believe there is more–and beyond that, that I deserve more.  It’s okay to accept your life, but it’s also okay to believe that you have the power to change it and the right to want to give yourself everything. 

As long as I’m depending on me for my “more,” and not someone else who may or may not make my life better, I’m going to keep hoping. 

When the world says, “Give up,”
Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.”

~Author Unknown

What are your thoughts on hope?

6 thoughts on “On Hope

  1. Hmm. I’m not sure hope is the word I would use for myself, but I do try to find little things to look forward to in the immediate future and that always keeps me going. Maybe that’s what you can do? For instance, I meet my running group for the first time on Saturday. I’m nervous! But I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

  2. Have you ever seen Hope Floats?? Its great, sad and funny and all that stuff rolled into a girly movie. But in it is a quote I remember and love:

    “Childhood is what you spend the rest of your life trying to overcome. That’s what momma always says. She says that beginnings are scary, endings are usually sad, but it’s the middle that counts the most. Try to remember that when you find yourself at a new beginning. Just give hope a chance to float up. And it will…”

  3. Melissa,

    What a beautifully written and poignant post. I so agree that not matter what life throws at me hope is always still there even if it is a small glimmer. Fortunately that glimmer has always gotten bigger and turned into something positive. I know that it will for you too.

    I absolutely agree with you that it is good thing to appreciate what you have but still hope for more. We can be grateful without being complacent.

    I know that there are many so many wonderful things in store for you.

  4. I think HOPE is a wonderful, WONDERFUL thing. It’s hoping for things like winning the lottery or marrying Prince William and other unrealistic things that are not productive. I try to just hope for Happiness in life in general. As opposed for hoping for things that I have little control over.

  5. Vith says:

    I’m disappointed and searching web for more hopes. Suddenly-finding your post is a certain proof that hope’s somewhere out there. You could only see through when you experienced. Thanks for your sharing, Hope is certainly important thing, beside FAITH, that we always need to live on no matter what life throws to us.

Leave a reply

