BFD: Breakfast for Dinner

Before I get to the everyday stuff, I have to say a very sincere thank you to all of you who read, commented, and shared your own experiences in this morning’s post.  The reason I began writing here in the first place was to figure myself out and try to find my own happiness, and I’m so honored to have you along for the ride.  From the bottom of my heart, thank you for making me feel safe enough to share my real feelings here.  Hugs to you, blog friends! Red heart


This afternoon, I made a quick trip to the chiropractor, before stopping off at the body shop to grab a few things I had left in my car.  The poor little guy is still looking pretty sorry; no progress so far.  I just hope they are able to get the parts and fix it quickly—I’m headed back to Michigan for a good part of the summer in just over 2 weeks.  I need my wheels!

I finished up one of my final half marathon training runs today, too, completing a total of 5 miles on the treadmill.  My workout required some mile repeats, so it ended up looking like this:

Distance Pace
1 mile (warm up) 6.0
1 mile 7.3
1/2 mile 5.5
1 mile 7.3
1/2 mile 5.5
1 mile (cool down) 6.3

There was a very sweet woman walking on the treadmill next to me.  When I finished my run, she complimented me on my endurance.  I thanked her and explained that I’ve been training for a half marathon and that it’s coming up on Saturday.  She was so sweet and said that she’d be cheering me on from here.  I love nice people!  I really need to work on being friendlier; I enjoy giving compliments just as much as getting them and sometimes I forget that!

When I got home, I finished up my workout with 20 minutes of yoga on Exercise TV.  I did the 10 Pound Slimdown Yoga workout, which I thought was just okay.  The workout flows really quickly, and I prefer to hold the poses a little longer so I get a good stretch.  That doesn’t quite happen when you’re zooming through the workout!  I really loved Body by Bethenny, but it’s not on Exercise TV anymore!  Sad smile  Guess I’ll have to break down and buy it!


For dinner, I went for some easy comfort food: BFD!  That’d be breakfast for dinner!

This isn’t really a recipe, since I just threw everything in a pan and scrambled!

005

I scrambled up 3 egg whites with a heaping teaspoon of pesto, then added spinach, scallions, tomato, turkey bacon, and feta.  Crazy delicious!

006

If you’ve never put pesto in your eggs, will you please try it for me?  So stinkin’ good!

On the side, I cut up some gorgeous sweet strawberries.

007

I think they’re the summer fruit I most look forward to!

I also toasted and buttered a Thomas’ Whole Wheat Bagel Thin to have with my eggs.

008

I can’t have eggs without some kind of toast, and I really love the bagel thin concept.  What I don’t love, however, is the excessive packaging.  You see, the Bagel Thins come in a bag

003

Which has another bag inside the bag

002

I presume that this is for freshness, but it’s a tiny bit inconvenient when I’m trying to multitask and can’t get the thing out of the package with one hand!  I may have had a tiny fit in my kitchen while trying to break into these.  Tiny.

But it was worth it for my yummy dinner, so I won’t complain too much!

004

I’m off to get start packing for my race this weekend!  Gotta get an early start so that I can drive myself crazy tomorrow night triple checking to be sure I have everything! Winking smile

What products do you find have inconvenient packaging? 

I’m also not a fan of yogurt packages.  They’re hard to open.  My yogurt gets stuck in their little random grooves and crevices.  It bums me out!

4 thoughts on “BFD: Breakfast for Dinner

Leave a reply

