The Boathouse

Isn’t it the best when you get to have weekend fun on a weeknight?  You know what I mean, right?  When you get to do something really fun that would normally be reserved for a weekend, but on a weeknight, it’s just that much more fun! 

Tonight, I got to do just that when Danielle and I cashed in a Groupon I got a while back for The Boathouse!

It was the perfect warm and breezy evening to sit out on the deck overlooking the lake, enjoy a glass of wine, and have a little girl talk!  I mean, doesn’t this just look like the weekend to you???

The Boathouse 001

Danielle commented that she would like to have a dock like that someday, with rocking chairs overlooking the lake.  Yep, I could get on board with that.  I’d have my coffee out there, read a book, enjoy a cold beer . . . ah, someday . . . Smile

We started with a round of drinks—pinot grigio for her and my signature summer favorite, a mojito, for me!

The Boathouse 007

This was an exceptionally good mojito!  Fresh mint and limes, not too sweet, and the perfect amount of rum.  I tried really hard to sip and savor, but it wasn’t easy! 

We took a few minutes to peruse the menu while sipping on our drinks.  They have so many choices and everything is good, so it wasn’t easy to decide!

The Boathouse 002

The Boathouse menu features many locally available ingredients, including regionally sourced seafood.  Read: everything is super fresh!  With salads, sushi, woodfired pizzas, and seafood among the offerings, we had to select carefully.  Luckily, Danielle is the kind of friend who likes to share, so we decided to split a few things.  I love having dinner with a friend who likes to split the meal.  That way you get to try more things! Open-mouthed smile

We started with a spicy tuna roll, which wasn’t especially spicy, but the tuna was fantastic!

The Boathouse 008

We nibbled away on this bad boy while soaking up the gorgeous view and enjoying the warm breeze. 

The Boathouse 006

Check out our wind-blown hair!  Not kidding about that whole breeze thing! 

Next up, we shared a Spinach, Pear, and Gorgonzola salad with cherry tomatoes, pickled Vidalia’s, toasted pistachio nuts, and balsamic vinaigrette.  This was hands down my favorite part of the dinner.  It tasted like it came straight out of the garden!

The Boathouse 009

I need to remember how much I enjoy pistachios as a salad topping.  Loved the combo of flavors and textures going on here. 

While we waited for our main entrée, we did some good people watching at the bar.  You can’t tell from this picture, but it was mostly filled with guys straight off the golf course—lots of polo shirts going on!

The Boathouse 010

Then, it was time for the main event!  Mahi topped with crab meat stuffing and served alongside  tomato-arugula cous cous with a sweet Vidalia onion sauce.

The Boathouse 011

So pretty!  I wanted to love it . . . I really did.  I just wasn’t a fan.  I ate a few bites, but threw in the towel.  I think I just don’t really care for mahi mahi.  Ah, well.  You can’t win ‘em all, right?  Danielle liked it, though, so she took home my leftovers for lunch tomorrow. 

The only other complaint I had was that we told our server that we were splitting everything, but they didn’t split it in the kitchen.  They just brought out extra plates and left us to do it ourselves.  For this caliber of restaurant, I kind of expect them to do that for me.  Maybe I’m asking too much, but where I worked in college they always split dishes and it was on the same playing field as The Boathouse.  I know it’s a small thing, so I’ll stop being an old coot and quit my complaining! Winking smile

Overall, it was a pretty much picture perfect evening—the ideal kickoff to the summer!  I think I could live like that year round.  Now I just have to figure out how I can get myself a nice home on a lake with a chef to make me amazing, fresh meals.  If you have any ideas as to how to put that into play, pass them along to me, will you?   

What activities do you consider your summer “kickoff’s” ??? 

Mine are absolutely dining outside, walks at twilight, and a trip to the Dairy Queen! 

10 thoughts on “The Boathouse

  1. Mojitos and sushi – you definitely know how to make me jealous 🙂

    What a great way to kick off the summer. I would say that al fresco dining and running in the hot weather are definitely my favorite ways!

    Hope you have a wonderful Friday! 🙂

  2. Mmm I love restaurants like that… when you know the ingredients are super fresh, and that view is perfect 🙂
    Mojitos are also one of my favorite drinks, quite refreshing and definitely a nice summer drink. I would say my first trip to the beach, or having to run very early in the morning to escape the heat means summer is finally here!

  3. I’m pretty sure you’ve been doing Dairy Queen before the summer. But don’t worry, I won’t tell. 🙂

    Summer kickoff? Humidity. Ugh. < —- Hater of humidity

Leave a reply

