Dessert Stomach

Will you indulge me in just one more weekend post??? 

Morgantown 013

Because I feel very strongly about sharing with you my post-race celebratory dinner at the Regatta Bar & Grille!

Morgantown 012

Right on the Monongahela, my Dad and I hit up the Regatta for an al fresco celebration on Saturday night!

My date Smile

Morgantown 014

Because we are serious winos were celebrating, we ordered a bottle of Ghost Pines Cabernet Sauvignon to start.

Morgantown 015

It was a blend of Napa and Sonoma grapes that was pretty darn tasty!  Not as good as the Flora Springs that we had on Friday night, but still delish!

We also shared shrimp cocktail as an appetizer.

Morgantown 016

Dad and I agree that if we could only have one food for the rest of our lives, it would be shrimp.  It’s just so versatile, ya know?  You can boil it, sauté it, steam it, grill it . . . oh, wait.  We’ve all seen Forrest Gump.  I’ll just shut up now. Winking smile

I also had a great house salad with gorgonzola, red onions, fresh sun dried tomatoes, and bacon.  Swoon! 

Morgantown 017

I say “fresh” sun dried tomatoes because they didn’t taste at all like they had been sitting around in a pantry somewhere.  They tasted like they dried in the sun today.  Not overly chewy, but still sweet and delicious.  I loved ‘em!

Dad had the soup of the day, which was some kind of turkey something (such a foodie, right?).  Anyway, it was fantastic, too!

Morgantown 018

And of course there was a killer bread basket to accompany it all.

Morgantown 019

The rolls in the bottom of the basket had cheese and spinach and peppers—crazy good!

As soon as I saw that they had sea bass on the menu, I knew what I was going to order!  I adore sea bass, but hardly ever get to have it, so I always take advantage when it’s available! 

Morgantown 020

My sea bass was simply grilled and dressed with a little lemon oil and lemon zest, which complimented the fish perfectly!  Served over a bed of creamy white beans with roasted asiago tomatoes on the side, it lived up to my lofty expectations!

Morgantown 022

I loved that they had thin strips of lemon peel as the garnish, too!  So good!

Dad, being a dad and all, ordered the New York Strip.  I didn’t try any, but he seemed pretty happy with it!

Morgantown 021

And because even if I’m full, my “dessert stomach” never is, we had to have this.

Morgantown 024

Do you have a dessert stomach, too?  You know, the extra reserve space that allows you to eat just a little more in the name of all things sweet?  I am aware that not everyone has this, but I just can’t quite wrap my head around it.  Like when people say things are “too rich” or “too chocolaty.”  Huh???

Bill Cosby might have always had room for Jello, but I always have room for Double Chocolate Torte.  That’s how I do! Winking smile

I know I’ve already said this a million times, but I really did have the best weekend!!!  In case you’re just catching up, here’s what you missed!

I stopped in Cville on the way to my race to visit Kath’s new Great Harvest.

I had a kick-butt race with a 5 minute PR! Smile

I refrained from stealing a really cool beer mug.

And had the best thing I ever ate!

Time to take on the week! 

How was your weekend?

9 thoughts on “Dessert Stomach

  1. Hell yeah I have dessert stomach! People tell me they can’t eat certain things because they are “too sweet.” Um…what does that even mean? I do not know. Because I have never had that problem.

    And you know how people stop eating stuff because they are “sweeted out?” I don’t get that either. I could eat dessert until I barfed. Then after I barf, I’ve made more room for more dessert. Hee.

  2. I’m a steak girl at heart – although its rare (ha, get it!?) that I eat one.. Your Dad’s steak looks yummy!

    I’m so happy you had a great weekend! I hope you have a great week, too!

Leave a reply

