It Had to Happen Eventually

Well, my friends, it had to happen eventually . . .

Last night, I had an EPIC muffin fail.

That’s right, I finally made muffins that well and truly sucked.

*sigh*

But they looked so pretty . . .

020

All swirly and cinnamony and nice.

Right?

021

I even made a little drippy icing to drizzle over the top.

022

Lookers though they might have been, they tasted like old dumplings.  Just way too thick and tough and generally not good.  The pictures tell a different story, but you’re going to have to trust me on this one.

024

Good thing I work with a lot of boys and they’ll eat anything.  Five minutes in the breakroom and these puppies will be a distant memory.

What was your last kitchen fail? 

14 thoughts on “It Had to Happen Eventually

  1. Oh nooo, that is sad, because they do look so pretty and tasty!

    My last kitchen fail was actually with the blueberry-lemon cheesecake bars I posted on my site the other day. The first batch I added zests and juice from THREE lemons instead of two (not sure what I was thinking) and they tasted soo so gross- like sour cream cheese, ick!

  2. oh my gosh~the pictures make them look way amazing!

    let’s see….i have had my share…..my ganache covered cupcakes…..i tried to increase the ganache recipe by adding a little more of this and a little more of that….oye. a runny chocolate mess! lol….oh well, trial and error right!?

  3. At least they look pretty! My last kitchen fail was def not pretty enough to take a pictures of. I put basically every possible cookie ingredient into a chocolate oatmeal cookie and it just didn’t come out right. Hm, wonder why! Oh, and I also made a nasty smoothie with peaches and spinach that tasted AWFUL. Promise I’ll post my next miserable kitchen fail–makes life more interesting, lol! 🙂

  4. No worries, your next batch is bound to be delicious. Oh kitchen fails–latest one was coffee banana soft serve. I think my expectations were too high. I was expecting fro yo and got…bananas. I’ll have to give it another shot!

  5. They look so good!! Kind of makes me want a cinnamon roll this morning with my coffee 🙂 Sorry they didn’t turn out so well! But – you are right – boys will eat ’em! 🙂

  6. I’m glad I’m not the only one that sometimes makes a hot mess in the kitchen! I once burnt chocolate in the microwave so badly that it filled the entire room with smoke. The smoke was so thick that i couldn’t see my hand in front of my face, and the entire house smelled like burnt chocolate for over a month when I used the microwave. Ugh. At least those muffins look amazing:) Too bad they didn’t taste like it though!

Leave a reply

