Happy Hope Cookies

Some really really good things are happening.

I’m not ready to share specifics just yet, but since I share so much with you all, and since you are so wonderfully gracious and supportive, I felt it only appropriate to share that I am very very happy. Open-mouthed smile

Riding on endorphins from the very good things last night, I enjoyed an early evening run where I took some time to reflect.

The predominant thought in my head as I was flying through those 6 miles is that I feel inexplicably, inappropriately, insanely, deliriously happy with the trajectory of my life right now.  Important things are coming together.  New opportunities are falling into place.  And NONE of it, thankyouverymuch, has one iota to do with a man.

Let’s take a moment to let that sink in.

Because it certainly took me a moment—or several.

For most of my life, I have tied my happiness to a relationship or another person, and I have fought like hell to hold onto that happiness because I didn’t know how to have it on my own.  But suddenly, I know myself.  I get me.  I have an identity.

I am a runner.

I am a wannabe chef.

I am a wine lover.

I am a sister and a daughter and a friend.

And I think I might just be a writer.  Or at least part of me is.

Regardless of the “parts” that make up the whole, I can finally say that I know who I am.

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Talk about a breakthrough.

I got to thinking about the “inappropriately” part of my thoughts during my run, and the truth is, it’s not inappropriate to be this happy.  In fact, it feels just right.  I deserve it, and I need to remember that and let myself enjoy it.

On the other hand, I am firmly in the camp of “not counting your chickens before they hatch,” so I am taking this slow.  But I am letting myself hope.

In that vain, I celebrated my hope by baking up a batch of cookies!  And I didn’t even want to eat them all!  Not because they aren’t delicious, but because when I’m feeling good and happy, I don’t need to eat my feelings.  I know you know what I mean. Winking smile

Happy Hope Cookies

Makes 3 dozen

3/4 cup butter flavored shortening (use butter if you like, but shortening makes better cookies, IMO)

1 1/4 cup brown sugar (could also use a combination of brown and white)

1 T. vanilla extract

2 T. milk

1 egg

1 3/4 cup flour

1 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1 cup old fashioned oats

1/2 cup each chocolate chips and walnuts

Preheat oven to 375*.

Cream together shortening and sugar with vanilla and milk.  Add egg until just incorporated.  Beat in flour, salt, and baking soda, then mix in oats, chocolate chips, and walnuts.  Drop in spoonfuls onto greased cookie sheets and bake for 10 minutes.  Cool on wire racks.  Or eat right away.  Your choice.

Happy Hope Cookies 001

Look, I made you one, too! Open-mouthed smile

Happy Hope Cookies 005

What’s making you happy today?

15 thoughts on “Happy Hope Cookies

  1. I am in love with this post and am so happy for you! Not going to lie, I originally thought your good mood was stemming from meeting a man or something to do with a guy… I will be the first to admit I was wrong 🙂
    Great cookie recipe also!
    Girl, I can’t wait to hear all about your good and positive news!

  2. Kira says:

    Oh, this post just made my day! I’m so happy for you and can’t wait to hear the details. Praying everything comes through for you…and yes, I do think you are a writer. 🙂 I enjoy reading your posts every day and did miss them over the weekend. ❤

  3. Katie says:

    YAAAAY! 🙂 Even if the news doesn’t pan out, I’m so glad to see you happier and realizing that you deserve this happiness. Sometimes the hardest part is just letting ourselves accept great things.

  4. I’m so EXCITED FOR YOU! I’ve always felt so strongly that to be our most joyful selves, we have to be happy with ourselves and by ourselves first – relationships can make you happier, but they can NEVER replace that contentedness that you feel now. I’m so excited to hear about all the good things happening in your life, Melissa! You go girl! (Oh, and thanks for the cookie ;-))

Leave a reply

