Birthday Astrology

Admittedly, I’m not all that superstitious.  I usually ignore superstition in favor of practicality.  I’d like to think I have a teensy bit more control over my luck than a random black cat that happens across my path can command. 

That being said, I do listen to my horoscope every morning on the radio.  It’s not a barometer for how my day will go, but I am always curious to see what the stars have in store for me.

Yesterday, Tina linked to a great site on birthday astrology.  Curious, I clicked over.  Not only do they have the information for your astrological sign, but you can also look up the astrology for the specific date of your birth.

I happen to be a Capricorn . . .

I’ve got to say, everything I’ve ever read about the Capricorn personality pretty much fits me to a tee.  Here’s what the TLC site said about me:

Capricorn women have a cool, standoffish charm. Elegant and glacial, they may seem unapproachable. Actually, this is a mask to hide their vulnerability. Capricorn individuals are afraid of “losing face.” They fear criticism and can’t abide being forced to be self-critical. This woman is competitive, though she is usually more interested in besting her own efforts than those of rivals.

For the most part, I’d say this is pretty accurate.  I am definitely a competitive person, but moreso with myself than anyone else.  And self critical?  Yep. 

Silly goat!

I was also really interested in the specifics for my birthday, too.  According to birthday astrology, here are a few interesting tidbits about those of us born on January 19.

You should embrace: Brilliance (duh), musical ability (what musical ability?), security (for sure)

You should avoid: Excesses (shouldn’t we all?), instability (can’t stand a lack of control), divine madness (I don’t even know what that means, but it sounds bad)

On Relationships: People born on this date put their heartand soul into friendships. They depend upon the advice of those close to them and are likely to return the favor. They need to feel they control any romantic relationship, possibly because of abandonment in childhood or an earlier romantic relationship that went awry.

This is pretty accurate–especially the need to feel in control in a relationship . . . oops. :/

Health: People born on this date manage their health well — if they feel in control. This explains why they must often make changes in their thinking before they can take care of their physical well-being. It’s wise to immerse themselves in positive image reinforcement.
Again with the control . . . sensing a theme here . . . 😉

Career and Finances: People born on this date have many talents, including artistic and creative abilities that may not have been discovered until adulthood. It often takes early success to give them the self-confidence to meet challenges.

I’m pretty sure this says I’m seriously artistic and creative.  I think I’ll quit my job and become a painter. 😉

Dreams and Goals: To learn to trust their incredible intuition on a level that can help them make life-choices is an important goal for January 19 people. They are eager for professional and personal success.

Isn’t everyone eager for professional and personal success?  I do need to work on trusting my intuition, though.  It’s hard to trust yourself when you feel so sure about something and then it goes wrong.  The thing is, I don’t think most things go wrong because I’m necessarily wrong; sometimes things just . . . go wrong.

Anywho, just a little food for thought about me this morning.  If you get a chance, click over to the Birthday Astrology site and check out your own info.  I’d love to hear if your birthday astrology is as accurate as mine! 

Do you put any stock in your horoscope? 

9 thoughts on “Birthday Astrology

  1. I don’t read my horoscope. I’m a Libra, so they’re always telling me that I have to have balance in my life. I guess that’s true. But it could be for anyone. I don’t go to extremes with anything… Except fro-yo consumption. Or Mojitos. …. Hmmm, maybe they’re wrong. 😉

  2. I don’t really put a lot of stock in my horoscope, but I do enjoy reading them and everything I’ve read about Gemini personalities has been pretty spot on… I did read all my horoscope stuff on Tina’s site too, maybe I’ll do a follow-up post like this and see how accurate mine is… 🙂

  3. I don’t even read horoscopes. They are all so general you could apply them to anything in your life. So, no stock in horoscopes for me. However, if anyone tells me I’m not a Gemini because astrological signs changed, I’ll punch them.

  4. Danielle Byard says:

    Ooohh..I have to show you my awesome birthday book…ive had it for years…it has everyday of the year…and two big pages about each day with super tiny font..so its a lot of info 🙂 Its fun 🙂

Leave a reply

